This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"An awful experience"

About: Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow / Maternity care (Wards 47, 48 & 50)

(as the patient),

I was induced for labour in May 2021 at the Queen Elizabeth hospital in Glasgow. During my induction I had great staff and have only positives to say about the experience.

I later moved down to the labour ward where I met the midwife and a student midwife who would be there for the birth.  The midwife couldn't have been less interested in anything I had to say and this process continued throughout my entire labour. They administered hormone treatment without my consent even though I was already at 8cm and progressing well on my own without it. I started over contracting and had severe pain in my back and I vocalised this several times but they refused to check me even though my labour had been moving quickly.

I felt the urge to push and they still didn't check me.  Other members of staff, the student midwife, the person who gave me my epidural stated that they felt I should be checked but they insisted I wasn't to be checked for another 2 hours. 

After an hour the baby's heart rare plummeted and they came to check me, only to run back out seconds later when a doctor rushed in and told me we needed to get baby out quickly. After going to my 8 week check my doctor told me this was because baby got stuck the wrong way round in the birth canal which obviously couldn't have been avoided but was a traumatic situation for me and the baby.  All the emergency staff running in probably could have been less if they had just listened to me when I said what was going on. Or I could have been offered a c section and wouldn't have all the trauma of feeling the doctor turn my baby vaginally

Furthermore I hemorrhaged and was told that I didn't lose that much blood.  However a doctor came down 3 days later to recovery to tell me that I was at transfusion level and they couldn't tell me what it was at the day of birth when my heart rate was through the roof.   I got an apology.

I then asked to be discharged as the care I was receiving in recovery was also very very poor from very rude staff. I was then readmitted because my baby was jaundiced and suffered  weight loss due to breast feeding and my supply not coming in due to having pre-eclampsia.  Nobody advised me of this. Anything could have happened to me or my baby due to this experience. Awful experience. 

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gaynor Bird, Interim Lead Midwife, Maternity, NHSGGC last month
Gaynor Bird
Interim Lead Midwife, Maternity,
Submitted on 01/07/2022 at 16:20
Published on Care Opinion at 16:32

picture of Gaynor Bird

Dear Cafery77

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience at the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital during the birth of your baby. I am glad to hear that you had great staff through the induction and that this was a positive experience. However, I am sad to hear that your experience within labour ward was an awful experience for you. We always aim to provide excellent, person centred care and I am extremely sorry that you felt that the staff caring for you did not listen to you and were rude to you.

I would like to offer you my support and the opportunity to discuss your experience further to explore and identify where we could have enabled you to have a more positive birth experience.

Please feel free to contact me directly via email to arrange a time to chat about your care. My email address is

Thank you


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k