This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Poor service"

About: General practices in Lanarkshire

(as the patient),

Following on from COVID diagnosis in March 2022 I contacted my GP practice as was experiencing difficulty breathing as a result of my asthma/ COVID/respiratory issues. I wanted to speak to a Dr.  As per surgery guidelines day 1, I called at 8am. After waiting 45 mins receptionist answered the call and with all my determination I tried to speak my name.

Receptionist started impatiently stating are you going to speak up I can't hear you, they continued to speak over me and due to this couldn't hear me and what I was attempting to say, leaving me with no option but having to try repeat myself with great difficulty. Due to covid/impaired breathing I was trying so hard to talk and asked that they please be patient with me as I was trying so much to breath/talk. 

I desperately tried to speak and was told no appointments left to call back the following day. Day 2 at 8am the following day I called and again waited in a que for 40 mins was getting same will you speak up I can't hear you by this time my breathing had significantly deteriorated and  I tried my hardest to talk and was told a g.p would call me back same day. I waited until 5pm no call returned. I called surgery advising I was awaiting a call back only for a receptionist to say you didn't phone here at 8am this morning as no call logged... No listening/empathy understanding and when I insisted I did call they went away looked into this and said to me only 1 Dr on today & short staffed & you been missed, so call back tomorrow morning at 8am.

Feeling worse day 3 I called at 8.00am 43rd on que after 50 minutes later receptionist answered and immediately hunt up saying I can't hear you and hung up. I called back immediately again waited in que only for call to be answered and yet again told no appointments through no fault of my own.

Day 4 phoned at 8am got appointment  with a nurse that lead to me having to attend hospital immediately due to severity of my symptoms. The hospital say on arrival don't let your symptoms get as bad as this next time. Despite trying all week at g.p for appointment.  All receptionist that I spoke to that week we're totally disinterested, lack of telephone skills or empathy throughout all interactions.

Reception staff on dealing with them are rude, impatient, poor customer service, extremely lack communication skills both listening and verbal.
From my experience I found them unprofessional and appear to lack any training on all matters that involve working with public. They seem to have little if any regard that they are first point of contact for people who are POORLY. Given that COVID has been a global pandemic that effects people's breathing why are receptionist staff hanging up on phone call after 2 seconds after waiting on hold for 50 minutes desperate to get an appointment. Reception staff would appear to have little training/knowledge/understanding on COVID/effects of COVID/respiratory issues and how to communicate effectively on a telephone which is bizarre considering reception staff are first point of contact for a g.p practice that has a duty of care to its poorly patients. 
This impatience and lack of tolerance demonstrates a lack of willingness to help people who are calling the surgery because they are POORLY. Yes COVID has impacted services however from my experience of this surgery over 13 yrs has been poor. When people are being advised not to attend over run and over-worked hospitals and encouraged to attend g.p to stay away from hospitals where on earth is people supposed to get g.p advice from when can't get to speak to a g.p or bypass a unhelpful receptionist. 
Yes I understand that I am not the only patient that is unwell and yes it is also a big practice however If I had to treat individuals in this manner in my job I would get dismissed as this would not be tolerated so don't see why it's been allowed for years in this surgery. 
Staff attitude

Staff attitude

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Karen Jamieson, Quality Improvement Co-Ordinator, Quality Improvement Team, NHS Lanarkshire 3 weeks ago
Karen Jamieson
Quality Improvement Co-Ordinator, Quality Improvement Team,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 13/06/2022 at 16:39
Published on Care Opinion at 16:39

Dear jomelia1975

Thank you for sharing your story on Care Opinion. I am sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience. Please be advised that GP’s are independent contractors and are responsible for investigating and responding to any concerns a person may have about their service; they are not registered to respond directly to feedback through Care Opinion. I would therefore invite you to contact the Practice Manager if you would like a direct response about the service you experienced.

Thank you for sharing


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k