This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"I was not assessed adequately"

About: Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus / Accident and emergency

(as a service user),

After spending four hours at the Urgent care centre in Nottingham I was referred to accident and emergency at Nottingham University hospitals trust. 

Many security personnel were manning the door but did not seem to be dealing with the issues within the Accident and Emergency Department, it was a weekend evening lots of drinking related issues and antisocial behaviour.  

During my wait for treatment I was not assessed adequately I felt like I was on a production line, my symptoms worsened whilst I was in the care of Nottingham University Hospital accident and emergency and I tried to get help but no one was listening.  

In my 8th hour of waiting a healthcare assistant came to take my blood pressure etc.   I asked for a timeframe and I am so cross that this person quite frankly was nasty to me.  I do not think it unreasonable to ask to be signposted appropriately.  I was suffering anxiety and needed to get home as I am a carer for my son and husband.  He has no compassion did not take any ownership to help me - such poor patient service.  

I am very lucky as I managed to get 111 to book me a doctors appointment with out of hours.   12 hours after my journey began I now have a prescription for a skin infection and antihistamines for an allergic reaction.  

I work in the NHS and I am aware that many go the extra mile for patients, a lot of these people put themselves at risk at the start of the covid and continue to do so.  It is very sad to see that some staff do not seem focused on patient care.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust 4 months ago
Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
Submitted on 04/04/2022 at 13:29
Published on Care Opinion at 13:29

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and I’m very sorry to read that you felt you were not assessed adequately. It is concerning to read that you felt a member of the team was not polite and didn’t provide you with the information that you asked for. I would appreciate the opportunity to look into your concerns so that we can learn lessons and update staff on our Trust values and behaviors. If this is something that you would like to do please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison team so that they can take some further details from you on 0800 183 0204 or email

Thank you

Jennifer Wardle Millar
Matron, Emergency Department

Next Response j
Previous Response k