This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Breast Cancer Diagnosis"

About: Altnagelvin Area Hospital / Breast clinic Altnagelvin Area Hospital / Gynaecology Altnagelvin Area Hospital / Radiotherapy cancer services

(as the patient),

In October 2021 I attended my local breast screening mobile unit for a routine mammogram. I had had regular mammograms every 3 years since my 50th birthday, but this was to be my final scheduled one as I had my 70th birthday in April 2021. This time, though, I was recalled for further tests to be carried out.

I was diagnosed with breast cancer, and had my surgery just a few days later. The speed with which everything happened was amazing, especially considering all the  current negative reports of delays in treatment due to the Covid pandemic! My husband and I did, however, have a few anxious weeks waiting for my "recurrence score" results to come back from California - this would determine whether chemotherapy should be part of my individual treatment plan. Thankfully, my score was low, so it was decided I could proceed directly to a course of Radiotherapy. This happened in December 21/ January 22 

Throughout all this time, the care and support I received from all the staff in Altnagelvin Area Hospital, Londonderry was outstanding. Everyone truly helped my husband and myself to cope during these difficult weeks. We would both like to say a huge thank you to all the staff in Breast Screening, Ward 43 and the Radiotherapy Department at Altnagelvin for the empathy, concern and understanding shown to us at all times. The staff are truly dedicated and a shining example to us all!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Donna Kerlin, Consultant Radiographer (Breast), Diagnostics, WHSCT 6 months ago
Donna Kerlin
Consultant Radiographer (Breast), Diagnostics,
WHSCT
Submitted on 08/02/2022 at 15:45
Published on Care Opinion at 16:55


picture of Donna Kerlin

BrambleandWillow,

I hope you are keeping well. It can be very frightening to be recalled from your breast screening mammogram and especially to subsequently be given a breast cancer diagnosis. It is great to hear that you felt supported during your treatment, it is very important to the whole breast team that your experience as a patient is positive during what is a stressful period when empathy and understanding are so important. The wait for Oncotype scoring is unfortunately out of our control and can indeed cause anxiety while waiting for the outcome, rest assured the breast team await the score too so that decisions can be made quickly and that your care is not held up at any stage.

I will pass your kind words of thanks on to the other members of the breast team and wish you all the best on your journey to recovery.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Tara Boyle, Macmillan Support Centre Altnagelvin Hospital, Cancer & Diagnostic Services, WHSCT 5 months ago
Tara Boyle
Macmillan Support Centre Altnagelvin Hospital, Cancer & Diagnostic Services,
WHSCT
Submitted on 16/02/2022 at 10:29
Published on Care Opinion at 12:27


picture of Tara Boyle

Hi BrambleandWillow,

My name is Tara Boyle and I am responding on behalf of cancer services at Altnagelvin Hospital.

Thank you for your kind words about the staff your came into contact with during your recent cancer diagnosis.

I will share your feedback with the radiotherapy department that your mentioned in feedback. It is excellent to hear of their empathy, concern and understanding shown to both you and your husband.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience of our services. I also wish you well in your recovery.

Tara

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Vi Gray, Patient & Client Experience, 10000MoreVoices/Care Opinion, Professional Nursing, Western Health & Social Care Trust 5 months ago
Vi Gray
Patient & Client Experience, 10000MoreVoices/Care Opinion, Professional Nursing,
Western Health & Social Care Trust

encourage people to share their experiences of health and social care, what matters to you, what you particularly liked or disliked so that we can share with the relevant department, and staff .

Submitted on 17/02/2022 at 17:48
Published on Care Opinion at 17:48


picture of Vi Gray

Hello BrambleandWillow

Just to let you know that your feedback was also shared with the Ward Manager in Ward 43. Thank you for taking the opportunity of using the Care Opinion website to share your journey.

Take care

Regards

Vi Gray

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k