This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Below standards"

About: Heartlands Hospital

Arrived at majors at 7pm sent to minors who then sent me back to majors. Seen by initial nurse who then sent me back to minors. Sat there for an hour, no one saw me so I questioned why Id been sent there. I was sent back to majors. Partner was then informed I'd discharged myself (reality was they didnt know where i was as constantly past between two departments) as no communication between minors and majors. Had bloods and ex ray took around 12:30am (5 and a half hours after arriving). Told to then wait in waiting room to be then seen by senior doctor. Sat there for a further 5 hours. At 5:40am I left after informing reception waiting 10 hours and 40 minutes was torture. No social distancing, no hand gel, no toilet paper in toilets and the vending machine takes your money but doesn't dispense any goods. The waiting room was dirty with drinks, crisp packets, empty food containers on the floor. Staff are over stretched and under resourced which leads to tired grumpy staff. I can honestly say I have never witnessed anything like it. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Heartlands Hospital last month
Heartlands Hospital
Submitted on 08/10/2021 at 10:59
Published on at 14:38

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your patient experience and treatment at Heartlands Hospital A&E Department. It is disappointing to hear that you experienced such confusion whilst waiting to be seen as described in your feedback and that you did not get the care and attention expected whilst in the care of the trust. We are sorry that you did not receive the treatment you were expecting and that the experience you have mention was so negative.

Senior staff have been sent this feedback and if you wish to pursue any of the concerns you have raised please make contact with the Patient Relations Team on 0121 424 0808 or you can email your concerns to

Kind regards, Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k