This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Great surgical ward/traumatic admission"

About: King George Hospital

On August 9 2021 I arrived at King George for a colonectomy, following a diagnosis of a second bowel cancer. What a traumatic morning.

First I was told that there had been a problem with my pre-assessment at Tulip Ward the previous week and that surgery wouldn't therefore be able to take place. This was the first that I had heard of it (I still don't know what the issue was) and so I had gone ahead with the unpleasant bowel preparation for surgery over the weekend. It was then decided that surgery could proceed.

Soon afterwards, I was told that it couldn't - apparently there was building work going on in the larger theatre that was needed for my operation. I have no idea how my surgery was then able to go ahead but obviously I'm relieved that it was. My treatment once on the ward was excellent.

I’m writing in the hope that whatever glitches occurred - no communication between Tulip pre-assessment, the builders and the surgical team - won't happen to anyone else. It's not fair on the patient, or the staff who have to be the bearers of distressing news and deal with the fallout.

I emailed this information to PALS on 25/8/21 but have not received a reply.

nhs.uk logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from King George Hospital 2 months ago
King George Hospital
Submitted on 20/09/2021 at 17:38
Published on nhs.uk at 18:28


Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience, I am so sorry to hear what happened on the day of your surgery. I will ensure your feedback is discussed with the team. I note from your comment that you have emailed our Patient Advice and Liaison Service but have not received a response, please would you contact them by phone on 01708 435 454, as you should have received an acknowledgement to your email by the Team. The PALS Team will do all they can to help address your concerns . Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Kind Regards

Julie Wright Divisional Director of Nursing for Surgery

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k