This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Waiting times"

About: Queen Marys Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as a parent/guardian),

I took my young daughter into urgent care under the advice of nhs 111, she had suffered with a minor allergic reaction, she needed to be seen as she is under 1 so we can’t just give her over the counter antihistamine without talking to a doctor first, this isn’t the first time she’d had a reaction either which is why I really just wanted her to be seen. NHS 111 gave me an appointment at 9pm, I sat there with my restless tired young daughter for over 4 hours after being told my appointment would be prioritised.

I ended up taking my daughter home. I phoned NHS 111 again the next day and again was given another appointment for 2:30pm, we were seen by the triage nurse quite quickly however I found them to be really rude, also accused me of not holding my daughters head so that they could take a temperature when in fact she could clearly see I was holding her head firmly. I was then told I had a 4-hour wait to see a doctor, I was not prepared to wait that long again so I took my daughter home. I understand emergencies come in but the fact that my appointment time was not even prioritised was disgusting. I will not be taking my daughter back to that urgent care centre.  

More about:


Response from Queen Marys Hospital last month
Queen Marys Hospital
Submitted on 16/09/2021 at 09:09
Published on on 17/09/2021 at 21:43

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am sorry that your experiences at the UTC were not positive. We do endeavour wherever possible to see 111 Direct Bookings as close to the appointment time as possible, however due to the fact we offer unscheduled care and the sheer volume of patients we are currently seeing this is not always possible and emergencies will always take priority. I am also sorry that you felt you were not treated with the professionalism that we do expect from all our staff. Feedback is always shared with the wider team so that learning can be shared with a view of improving the service we provide.

Best Wishes

Sue Hopkins

Senior Operations Manager

Bexley Unscheduled Care

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k