This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Left sitting In MedDoc 4 hours, while having a…"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

After being passed through 111 and my GP I ended up at A and E for suspected miscarriage at 6 weeks, who sent me to “Special care unit” which when I arrived ended being Meddoc. I was left to make my way to department on my own dizzy and feeling weak to spend 4 hours on my own sitting in a waiting room before my mum because I was a mess. Half hour later a rude nurse comes into tell a 6 hour wait, there was still a pandemic and family had to leave, my mum told her of my circumstances refusing to leave unless some one came to be with me before be told in front of the whole waiting room “if she is having a miscarriage there is nothing we can do she will have to wait” this same nurse later then told me all they would do is give me a pregnancy test and send me home as no scan staff where available before sitting me in a corridor for another hour before I gave up and left. Since then my senior GP has been trying to contact the early pregnancy unit to no avail, no phone being picked up and no messages answered and there’s a 4-6 week wait on alternative scan service, if my miscarriage did not pass properly, I could be suffering infection or dead by then. I’ve put in complaints to only receive condolences and “we will pass it on to this department”. Three weeks after my miscarriage I’ve received no care, no scan, no help what so ever, no advice and left on my own alone to try and find alternative private care which most of which need referrals I’m being refused for. Other mothers have since told me of similar experiences and advised to to move my care to Daranth valley as and when I have my next pregnancy logo


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital last week
Medway Maritime Hospital
Submitted on 07/09/2021 at 12:18
Published on at 20:54

Dear Kerrie,

What an awful experience you describe and for this we sincerely apologise.

We can see that you had contacted us before and your comments were shared with the Matron for the Emergency Department and I can see from our records that you weren't ready to speak to someone at that time.

We can arrange for you to speak to a Matron, please contact our PALS team on if you feel ready.

We would also like to share your experience with Medway Community Healthcare who manage the MedOCC service.

Please do get back in touch,

kindest regard

The Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k