This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Reception staff"

About: Northwick Park Hospital / Paediatrics

(as a service user),

Brought my 2 year old with a very high fever. Had been crying after initial assessment. At reception we were asked one question then the staff member proceeded to do some paperwork. After a few minutes they gave me a piece of paper & ushered me away. Asked where I should go, they rudely pointed to a door & shouted at me. I said you just need to tell me where to go, and they proceeded to get very aggressive & angry.

Walked into Paediatric Care. My toddler had been crying throughout. He's not normally like that. Saw the nurses who were lovely. Asked them if my husband could come in so we could both attend to our soon, they agreed. The staff member on reception wouldn't let him in, the nurse had to go outside & get my husband. The reception staff member then came into the waiting area & demanded that my husband leave. The nurse said it was ok, but they continued to shout.

I understand that there are policies in place due to covid but there was another child with two people with him, so why can't my husband help?

Not what you need when you have a very poorly child.

Responses

Response from Patients Services Manager, London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust 5 days ago
London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust
Submitted on 22/07/2021 at 18:07
Published on Care Opinion at 18:07


Dear Reeta

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to the Paediatric emergency department at Northwick Park Hospital.

I was sorry to hear first of all that you had to bring your 2 year old son to the hospital with a high fever and hope that he is feeling much better now since you brought him in.

I was also sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the manner in which you were spoken to by the receptionist in the department, and thank you for detailing your interactions with them. These have been shared with the emergency department team, and also the senior staff responsible for the urgent care centre, which is also located within the emergency unit and who are responsible for the reception desk.

Should you wish for a more detailed response to your concerns, then please do not hesitate to write to our team at LNWH-tr.complaints@nhs.net. In the meantime, please be assured that your experience has been shared with the appropriate staff, and thank you again for sharing your concerns with us.

Kind regards

Peter Hare

Patient Services Manager

Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Navigation
Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Actions
Focus Search Box /