This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Joint clinic orthotist / podiatry"

About: Crosshouse Hospital / Podiatry Crosshouse Hospital / Prosthetics/Orthotics

(as a service user),


I have developed wounds on the sole of my right foot as a result of peripheral neuropathy. I am attending a multi-disciplinary clinic at Crosshouse Hospital involving the podiatrist and the orthotist.

I am frustrated in my dealings with the orthotist for the following reasons:

1. Repeated visits to the orthotist with either nothing being done or ready, or if it is done it needs handed back for adjustment or the insole is completely wrong.

2. Being informed that the shoes have internal rocker bars when clearly they don’t.

3. Seeming to blame patients to cover up a lack of understanding.

4. Being told that I should be wearing off loading sandals as opposed to orthotist footwear as I have wounds on my foot yet one of the wounds developed whilst wearing their shoes.

5. I asked the orthotist for a a rocker bar to be fitted to the outside of my shoe and they said that a rocker bar was already on the inside of the shoe. If this is true then it is clearly ineffective as had it been functional the wound would not have developed. Another concern that the orthotist had was the cosmetic appearance of a rocker bar on the sole of the shoe. I explained that function is more of a concern to me than the shoe's appearance.

6. Despite this it was eventually agreed to fit an external rocker bar to the shoe. This was over 3 weeks ago and having attended the clinic, the footwear is still not ready. This despite a 6 week turn around on an insole that required adjustment as the original was aggravating one of the ulcer sites. A proper fitting could have minimised this delay. 

7. Opposed to taking time to explain things or fit insoles, they elect to use podiatry to pass their insoles to patients or use reception staff to explain any concerns.

8. I have a clear understanding of biomechanics, wound management and Gait analysis and through my dissatisfaction I took the only pair of Klaveness footwear and paid for a rocker bar to be fitted to the right shoe. Since Then the ulcers on my right foot have dramatically reduced in size.

Finally I have concerns with what appears to be e a lack of prioritisation within this service and this needs to be addressed as a matter of urgency and remember not all patients understand and care should be given in partnership and consultation with patients and carers.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Rhona Allardice, Service Lead, Podiatry, NHS Ayrshire and Arran 14 months ago
Rhona Allardice
Service Lead, Podiatry,
NHS Ayrshire and Arran

Podiatry Lead with a special remit for the Enablement Service

Submitted on 14/06/2021 at 16:36
Published on Care Opinion at 16:36


Dear Big SoS

Thank you for your feedback.

I can advise that the Orthotic Service Manager is currently on two weeks holiday and will ask the manager to respond on their return.

Meanwhile if there is anything from a podiatric perspective, we would be happy to offer support and asistance as always.

Kind regards

Rhona

Rhona Allardice

Podiatry Service Manager - Community

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Colin Keith, Orthotics Service Manager, Orthotics, NHS Ayrshire & Arran 12 months ago
Colin Keith
Orthotics Service Manager, Orthotics,
NHS Ayrshire & Arran
Submitted on 26/07/2021 at 16:33
Published on Care Opinion on 27/07/2021 at 09:11


Dear Big SoS,

I am sorry that you felt the need to raise the concerns you have in your post.

I would like to offer you the chance to meet and discuss the concerns raised.

As you attend the joint high risk foot clinic myself and the Podiatry manager would meet with you to insure that the team of staff involved in your care are informed as appropriate of any outcomes from the meeting

If you wish to arrange a meeting please contact our admin team at

Clinical_Specialty_Orthotics@aapct.scot.nhs.uk advising that you wish to arrange a meeting with myself and they will forward on to me.

Thank you

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Big Sos (a service user)

That would be ideal. I will await a time which is mutually convenient. If you wish support from the podiatry department then I assume that the manager will work within the high risk team?

Many thanks

Big SOS.

Response from Colin Keith, Orthotics Service Manager, Orthotics, NHS Ayrshire & Arran 12 months ago
Colin Keith
Orthotics Service Manager, Orthotics,
NHS Ayrshire & Arran
Submitted on 09/08/2021 at 09:26
Published on Care Opinion at 10:55


Dear big sos,

Thank you for your response and willingness to meet.

As the clinic is a joint podiatry and orthotics clinic and the two specialties deal with your care jointly both the high risk podiatry manager and myself would routinely deal with any concerns around the delivery of the service to insure both teams are aware of any outcomes and actions necessary.

If you could provide your contact information as advised in my previous response I will organise a mutually convenient meeting.

Kind reagards

Colin

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Big Sos (a service user)

Dear Mr. Keith,Just to make things clear. The issues raised are in relation to the orthotics department. The podiatry department though involved in this clinic is only involved through association. The problems are with the orthotics department however if you still wish the podiatry manager to support you with this meeting as I have already stated that is fine with me

Response from Colin Keith, Orthotics Service Manager, Orthotics, NHS Ayrshire & Arran 12 months ago
Colin Keith
Orthotics Service Manager, Orthotics,
NHS Ayrshire & Arran
Submitted on 11/08/2021 at 16:34
Published on Care Opinion on 12/08/2021 at 10:31


Thank you for your response.

We do understand the points you have made and await you contacting the office to provide your details so as we can arrange the meeting. As you will appreciate it would be inappropriate to exchange personal information and meeting details on this forum. If you would rather phone them the number is 01563 827261

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Colin Keith, Orthotics Service Manager, Orthotics, NHS Ayrshire & Arran 9 months ago
Colin Keith
Orthotics Service Manager, Orthotics,
NHS Ayrshire & Arran
Submitted on 01/11/2021 at 16:52
Published on Care Opinion on 02/11/2021 at 13:45


Dear big sos,

Thank you for such a constructive discussion today on the phone around your previously raised concerns. The points have been taken seriously and as I said will be used to inform and improve service delivery.I also thank you for your understanding of some of the current pressures which have not been conducive in delivering some aspects of what I would consider best quality service.

I am pleased we were able to arrive at a mutually agreed plan for taking your treatment forward which I will personally be involved in and hope will serve to address the previous issues.

Kind regards

Colin

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k