"My son's care"

About: University Hospital Monklands / Accident & Emergency University Hospital Wishaw / Paediatrics

(as a parent/guardian),

I just wanted to make it known how fantastic and amazing the staff were in ward 19 at Wishaw general (children's ward) and the staff at the A,E department at Monklands hospital when my son was in their care.

He was transfered from Monklands hospital and admitted to Wishaw. Firstly when I came to the Monklands I wasn't even in there for 2mins and the receptionist had me seen by the staff at the a&e department and immediately my son was being treated. I can't express how amazing the staff were at the Monklands hospital not just with my son but with me also. When we arrived at Wishaw General I was so upset and worried my emotions where so high because I didn't know what was wrong with him and they gave me nothing but support and reassurance. The staff were truly amazing with me and my son I honestly can't express how amazing they were, constantly checking to see if I needed anything making sure I got a sleep I had something to eat as well as caring for my son. My son has been having problems for months and I finally feel thanks to the staff not only did he get the care he needed but he will also get the care he will need in the near future. The staff do not get enough credit for what they do and I am so grateful for everything they have done for my son and grateful they are going to see that he gets the care he needs going forward. 

I just wanted to thank them and make it known how amazing they all are at Wishaw general ward 19 and the staff involved at the Monkland a&e department. I wish I knew all their names but they all know who they are. Thank you again.

Responses

Response from Claire Fenwick, Service Manager, Medicine, NHS Lanarkshire 3 weeks ago
Claire Fenwick
Service Manager, Medicine,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 11/11/2020 at 14:21
Published on Care Opinion at 14:21


picture of Claire Fenwick

Hi Nicole123,

Thanks for taking the time to feedback on your recent experience of our Monklands Accident and Emergency department. I'm so pleased that at this difficult and stressful time that you felt supported, that your son was quickly assessed and onward treatment was quickly organised at University Hospital Wishaw. I do hope your son is recovering well and thanks once again for taking the time to feedback.

Kind Regards

Claire

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Carrie McCulloch, Senior Nurse, Childrens' Services, NHS Lanarkshire 3 weeks ago
Carrie McCulloch
Senior Nurse, Childrens' Services,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 11/11/2020 at 14:51
Published on Care Opinion at 15:57


Hi Nicole 123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this. We really value the feedback that is provided on the care we provide. The staff in Ward 19 UHW aim to provide high quality care which is centred around children, young people and their families. They recognise how worried you would have been as a parent. I am so pleased you and your son have had a positive experience and I hope this continues. I will pass on your kind words to staff in Ward 19. They will be truly delighted to receive your message, it will be very gratefully received.

Kind Regards

Carrie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Nicole123 (a parent/guardian)

The staff where absolutely outstanding!!! My son was being treated for septis and he is only 17months old. It was absolutely horrific but thanks to the amazing staff my son is now home and on his way to recovery. The staff on ward 19 at Wishaw general hospital are absolutely fantastic and I am forever grateful for the care my son recieved and also the support I recieved they truly went over and beyond xxxx

Response from Gavin Dolan, Senior Nurse, Emergency Care Directorate, University Hospital Monklands, NHS Lanarkshire 3 weeks ago
Gavin Dolan
Senior Nurse, Emergency Care Directorate, University Hospital Monklands,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 11/11/2020 at 15:32
Published on Care Opinion at 15:32


picture of Gavin Dolan

Dear Nicole123,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback on the Care Opinion platform. I am sorry to read that your son needed to use the services of the Emergency Department at University Hospital Monklands and Ward 19 at University Hospital Wishaw. As a father myself, I can completely empathise with that feeling of having an unwell child and the anguish, worry and fear it causes.

I was delighted to read your feedback around how the staff treated your son and how they looked after you also. I am extremely grateful for your honest experiences including how the staff made you feel and how amazing they were. I am very proud to professionally lead the team in the Emergency Department and I am very luck to have such a committed and devoted group of staff who deliver exceptional person centred care every day.

I very much hope that your son is well on his way to recovery and wish you both all the very best for the future.

Gav

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Jim Murray, Service Manager, Childrens Services, Wishaw Health Centre, NHS Lanarkshire 3 weeks ago
Jim Murray
Service Manager, Childrens Services, Wishaw Health Centre,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 12/11/2020 at 09:55
Published on Care Opinion at 09:55


picture of Jim Murray

Hi Nicole123,

Thanks so much for taking the time to send us your feedback - it really is appreciated. As my colleagues have said the staff will be delighted to receive your comments and be so glad they were able to reassure you and help in any way they could, during what I'm sure was a stressful and worrying situation.

Hope your son is doing well and all the best from us!

Take care

Laura

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Nicole123 (a parent/guardian)

The staff where absolutely outstanding, I have had worries since being home and spoke to one of the amazing doctors Jennifer on the phone yesterday from Ward 19 and again nothing but support and advice to help me continue the treatment for my son at home.

You are all amazing and again I am so grateful for everything you have done and everything you continue to do. You truly are the Heros of this world xxxxx

Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Navigation
Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Actions
Focus Search Box /