This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Giving birth and experience in neonatal unit"

About: Antrim Area Hospital / Neonatal Unit Maternity care / Delivery Suite Royal Jubilee Maternity services / Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)

(as the patient),

I went into premature labour at 32 weeks and unfortunately had a very poor experience both via community midwives, GPS and maternity services on the lead up to my birth. I had a severe UTI and no one appeared to be able to identify I had gone into premature labour, to the point where my husband missed the birth of our first child as no one knew how severe the situation was.

Communication during my time in maternity was very poor which has now massively impacted on my mental health. My experience thankfully changed into a positive one during my daughter’s time in the neonatal unit (transferred to Antrim after 3 days in the neonatal unit at the Royal Jubilee) the staff could not have done enough for my family however my experience of maternity care in Northern Ireland has made me seriously re consider having an future children.  

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Seana Talbot, Service Manager, Maternity, Dental, ENT and Sexual Health Services Division, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust 2 years ago
Seana Talbot
Service Manager, Maternity, Dental, ENT and Sexual Health Services Division,
Belfast Health and Social Care Trust
Submitted on 07/08/2020 at 12:27
Published on Care Opinion at 13:05


Thank you for your comments regarding your care at RJMS. I'm so sorry that you had a difficult experience and I would be happy to arrange a time to hear the full details. We are always ready to listen and learn about any aspects of maternity care which you think we could improve upon or any other issues you would like to discuss in more detail. We also have support services available to you - including contact with our specialist midwife, Barbara, who would be happy to go through your maternity notes with you. Please do get in touch if you feel this might be helpful. Seana.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Grace Edge, Head of Children's Nursing, Children's Nursing Service, Northern Health and Social Care Trust 2 years ago
Grace Edge
Head of Children's Nursing, Children's Nursing Service,
Northern Health and Social Care Trust
Submitted on 07/08/2020 at 14:41
Published on Care Opinion at 15:51


picture of Grace Edge

My name is Grace and I am the Head of Children’s Nursing within the Northern Trust. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your very kind words about your recent positive experience in the Neonatal Unit in Antrim Hospital. I have shared your comments with all of the neonatal team. I’m sure the staff will be very pleased to read them. Best wishes to you and your family.

Grace

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Leigh Morgan, CO Facilitator, Patient Experience, NHSCT 2 years ago
Leigh Morgan
CO Facilitator, Patient Experience,
NHSCT
Submitted on 07/08/2020 at 17:12
Published on Care Opinion at 17:20


picture of Leigh Morgan

Dear Matexperience,

I'm Leigh and I am the facilitator for Care Opinion here in the Northern Trust. Part of my role is to ensure that your feedback gets to all the right services.

Please could you contact me at Leigh.Morgan@northerntrust.hscni.net so that I can make sure that you have received responses from the services you have accessed through the Northern Health and Social Care Trust.

I hope to hear from you soon,

Best Wishes to you and your family,

Leigh

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Matexperience (the patient)

Hi Seana, thank you for the response. Could you please provide some contact details so I’m able to get in touch with you directly to further discuss my experience? I am already in touch with Barbara who has been very helpful in advising I will receive a birth debrief. This unfortunately will not take place until September. I would be keen to feedback on my maternity care in it’s entirety and not just on my birth (including some poor discharge and follow up experiences). If there is an opportunity to do this prior to September that would be great. Thanks

Response from Seana Talbot, Service Manager, Maternity, Dental, ENT and Sexual Health Services Division, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust 2 years ago
Seana Talbot
Service Manager, Maternity, Dental, ENT and Sexual Health Services Division,
Belfast Health and Social Care Trust
Submitted on 10/08/2020 at 15:23
Published on Care Opinion at 16:29


Yes of course. My email is seana.talbot@belfasttrust.hscni.net
Looking forward to hearing from you. Seana.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k