"My on going reflux."

About: General practices in Lanarkshire

(as the patient),

Hi I phoned my gp surgery today. to request a phone consultation for my on-going reflux situation.

Due to the circumstances with this covid-19. to which I was told to tell the receptionist my details as it is confidential. So I did. To which I was told a doctor would phone me back.

I didnt wait long. I spoke to the doctor I told them that I have had enough of this, the tablets that I take are no longer working and that I need something now. we spoke more as I have had scope done but there was no follow up.

I asked why and doctor says there wouldnt be 1 as there was nothing serious. I then say ok, I am glad as only just find out.

Anyway, doctor says, that theres a new tablet I could have/take. sorry I forget name of it. in that they would send prescription to chemist today for me to pick up. I asked the doctor this. as I need something to help me now. I phoned chemist twice in gp surgery only to be told my prescription was still in tray by the receptionist. to which I replied thats no good in there. as I was told it would be in chemist today. by the doctor.

I asked the receptionist to go ask doctor why they would tell me this if this not the case, only to be told I will need to wait till tomorrow as person at chemist told me it usually takes or could take 48hrs. I'm not one for phoning my doctors all the time, but when I need help or advice and get misinformation that does not help. what if I needed this. right away? as well as being or having epilepsy. which I also have or had to ask every time I take any other tablets is it safe to do so.

I feel I'm a bother. a nobody that matters. embarrassed. in that I'm begging for medication that I need. this is how I feel every time I have to phone my gp practise.


Response from Rick Edwards, Programme Manager for Person-Centred Care, Quality Directorate, NHS Lanarkshire last week
Rick Edwards
Programme Manager for Person-Centred Care, Quality Directorate,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 21/05/2020 at 13:42
Published on Care Opinion at 13:42

picture of Rick Edwards

Dear madcat,

Sorry to hear about your ongoing difficulties managing your symptoms, you must have been relieved to hear "there was nothing serious". Lets hope that the new medication you have been prescribed helps to alleviate and manage your symptoms.

I'm unable to comment regarding some of the other feedback you have provided as GP are independent contractors. They are responsible for investigating and responding to any concerns a person may have about their service, which would include situations like those you have described. I would add that I don't think anybody would want you to feeling embarrassed and demeaned and I'd like to apologise for that.

GP are not licensed to use Care Opinion so you'll need to contact the Practice Manager directly to ask them to investigate and address the points that you have raised.

I wish you well with the ongoing management of your symptoms.

Kind regards


Image title

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful