"Covid-19 care"

About: Royal Alexandra Hospital / Gastroenterology

(as a relative),

My dad was admitted to hospital with sickness (gastroenteritis) due to his diabetes, he was on the mend and was in a room with 2 confirmed positive coronavirus patients even though he was a high risk patient. About a week later my dad also tested positive for coronavirus.

Five days after he tested positive he was sent home (he lives alone) not knowing if or when he’ll be tested again. When sending him home they asked my sister who stays with my two elderly grandparents and 10 year old sister to take him home! Which would of potentially put her at risk. I am left very upset and disappointed at the care my dad received whilst in this hospital.  


Response from Linda Russell, Business Manager, Emergency Care and Medical Services, NHSGGC 2 weeks ago
Linda Russell
Business Manager, Emergency Care and Medical Services,
Submitted on 21/05/2020 at 13:03
Published on Care Opinion at 14:01

I am so sorry to hear that your Dad has been so unwell, this must have been a very worrying time for you and your family. I am also sorry for the added distress you have been caused after your Dad was discharged home.

We would really like to discuss the significant concerns you have raised in more detail with you and if you think this would be helpful, please feel free to call me on 0141 314 6891 or by email on linda.russell2@ggc.scot.nhs.uk.

With all best wishes,


  • homamhx55 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too