"Mixed messages regarding seeing dying relative"

About: Perth Royal Infirmary / General Medicine

(as a relative),

Mixed messages regarding seeing dying relative receiving end of life care.

My grandmother was admitted to hospital over a month ago as she fell and broke her leg. Since then she had a heart attack and developed peumonua. We have been told antibiotics are not working and she is recieving end of life care.  She had a stroke in December and had not been home long, her carers had been pulled 2 weeks before she had her fall due to COVID-19. 

My mother has asked to see my grandmother one last time she was first told this would not be possible but then was told she would be allowed 1 hour at some point when they see fit. 

My mother was asked to pick up my dying grandmother's washing today and bring her fresh clothes. She went to A&E and asked to see my grandmother, the nurse said no. She went back upstairs and brought someone else down. Who said the nurse who said she would get to see her mum before she passes for it wrong. I have read on NHS Greater Glasgow that there are exception allowed for visiting: 1. End of life care. 2. Birthing partners. 3. Children in hospital. I understand Greater Glasgow is not NHS Tayside. However, this is basic human rights.

I understand the need to keep staff safe and other patients but your staff came down stairs to collect clothes from my mum not wearing any masks and did not keep their distance, and bringing in clothes from outside a hospital, again this is contradictory. These nurses are going back to the ward where my grandmother is currently dying. 

All my mum would like is to say goodbye to my granny and be there in person one last time. That is not alot to ask. 

Responses

Response from Debbie Baldie, Senior Nurse, Practice Development, Nursing and Midwifery Directorate, NHS Tayside 3 weeks ago
Debbie Baldie
Senior Nurse, Practice Development, Nursing and Midwifery Directorate,
NHS Tayside

I work with senior nurses to improve care standards through providing training and support

Submitted on 06/05/2020 at 10:26
Published on Care Opinion at 10:39


I am so sorry you are getting this conflicting advice - we do allow visiting in these circumstances - can you please contact me so I can help you with this? Please either send me a number for me to call you - my email is dbaldie@nhs.net or call me on 01382 660111 and ask for extension 32206.

  • GGJ thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too
Response from Julie Greenlees, Clinical Care Group Manager, Unscheduled Medicine, NHS Tayside 3 weeks ago
Julie Greenlees
Clinical Care Group Manager, Unscheduled Medicine,
NHS Tayside
Submitted on 06/05/2020 at 10:47
Published on Care Opinion at 10:48


Thank you for your post. I am sorry to hear that you have had inconsistent advice with regard to visiting. We would very much like to do our best to help you and your family during this difficult time and would ask that you contact our feedback team with more information to allow us to investigate this further.

Julie Greenlees, Clinical Care Group Manager, Unscheduled Medicine

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Sean Mcartney, Lead Nurse, Medicine (Urgent Care), NHS Tayside 3 weeks ago
Sean Mcartney
Lead Nurse, Medicine (Urgent Care),
NHS Tayside
Submitted on 06/05/2020 at 13:28
Published on Care Opinion at 13:28


Dear 'GGJ',

I am extremely concerned and disappointed regarding your experience of mixed advise regarding visiting arrangement within NHS Tayside and specifically PRI. I apologise for the anxiety that this experience has caused both you and your family at this difficult time.

NHS Tayside does have revised visiting guidelines during COVID and this does support visiting during end of life care.

I recognise that Debbie Baldie, Senior Nurse has provided contact details for you to ensure we support you and your family with the right advise regarding visiting. I will also ensure that the Senior Charge Nurses at PRI remind all staff to be familiar with the revisited NHS Tayside visiting guide.

Sean McArtney, Lead Nurse, Unscheduled Medicine

  • GGJ thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by GGJ (a relative)

My granny passed away at 4am this morning. My mum spent the night with her and was there with her.

Thank you for making it possible for her to spend as much time as she could with my granny.

Response from Julie Greenlees, Clinical Care Group Manager, Unscheduled Medicine, NHS Tayside 2 weeks ago
Julie Greenlees
Clinical Care Group Manager, Unscheduled Medicine,
NHS Tayside
Submitted on 18/05/2020 at 17:56
Published on Care Opinion on 19/05/2020 at 16:53


Dear Gemma

I am so sorry to hear your sad news. I am very glad however to hear that your Mum was able to spend time with your Granny and that she was with her when she passed away. My sincere condolences to you and your family.

Take care

Julie Greenlees, Clinical Care Group Manager, Unscheduled Medicine

  • GGJ thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too
Response from Debbie Baldie, Senior Nurse, Practice Development, Nursing and Midwifery Directorate, NHS Tayside last week
We have made a change
Debbie Baldie
Senior Nurse, Practice Development, Nursing and Midwifery Directorate,
NHS Tayside

I work with senior nurses to improve care standards through providing training and support

Submitted on 20/05/2020 at 18:20
Published on Care Opinion on 21/05/2020 at 10:24


So sorry to hear your sad news. Thank you, at this difficult time, for letting us know that your mum was able to spend the time she needed with your Granny.

I want to thank you also for raising these issues with us - they have helped us make some changes that we anticipate will help families understand current visiting arrangements and help staff enable visiting within current government restrictions. We have now changed our guidance on NHS Tayside's website about visiting and how it can be supported in particular circumstances. We have also shared guidance again with all staff on visiting restrictions, virtual visiting and the exceptions where visiting can be supported.

Debbie Baldie

Senior Nurse, Research and Development

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by GGJ (a relative)

Dear Debbie,

Thank you for your message. I noticed on Facebook the other day that there had been an update of Guidance for visiting!

Thank you for all your help and thank you to all the Nurses and Doctors on Ward 1 who cared for my Granny.

Kind regards,

GGJ