"Having a bad day"

About: Coatbridge Locality Support Service (Disability) / Community mental health team outreach NHS 24 / Breathing Space (Phoneline)

(as a service user),

Iv been feeling suicidal today. Self harmed.   Very low low mood. Tried calling breathing space, heard a lady very briefly & got cut off. Never got a chance to speak. Just sums up my day/week.  

Responses

Response from Sam Cairns, Project Manager, North Lanarkshire Advocacy 2 months ago
Sam Cairns
Project Manager,
North Lanarkshire Advocacy
Submitted on 01/05/2020 at 15:50
Published on Care Opinion at 15:54


Hi 1703,

I'm sorry you did not get through. It may not be of much help but please do try again.

I have included a couple of links below to other organisations that may be able to talk to you.

Hang on in there, everybody matters, please call Breathing Space again.

https://www.lifelink.org.uk/how-we-can-help/adults/

https://www.cope-scotland.org/

Breathing Space 0800 83 85 87

  • 1703 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too
Response from Shona Lawrence, Patient Experience Manager, NHS 24 2 months ago
Shona Lawrence
Patient Experience Manager,
NHS 24
Submitted on 01/05/2020 at 16:06
Published on Care Opinion at 16:06


picture of Shona Lawrence

Dear 1703

Thanks for contacting Care Opinion. I am very sorry to learn you are feeling so. I see your story was logged less than an hour ago, so I am not sure whether you have been trying to contact Breathing Space during the daytime. Their phone lines do not open until 6pm. Please call them later if you still need to on 0800 83 85 87. Calls are free and anonymous.

NHS 24 also has a dedicated Mental Health Hub which can be accessed by calling 111. This is available between 6pm-2am Monday-Sunday.

If you have a Community Psychiatric Nurse (CPN) you may also consider contacting them?

I would encourage you to call and speak with our highly skilled staff who will listen and provide support.

Take care in the meantime.

With regards

Shona

  • 1703 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by 1703 (a service user)

Thanks. I did try again & got through. It was helpful & im thankful to Breathing space. They passed me through to NHS24 & spoke to mental health nurse. She helped & I was happier, even had a wee laugh. Found out some new information which im hoping to follow up on once this lockdown ends. I know I will relapse again & knowing there is help out there & that people do care makes me feel better & hopeful.

Response from Shona Lawrence, Patient Experience Manager, NHS 24 2 months ago
Shona Lawrence
Patient Experience Manager,
NHS 24
Submitted on 04/05/2020 at 10:24
Published on Care Opinion at 10:24


picture of Shona Lawrence

Hi 1703

Thanks so much for posting a follow up to your original story. I am so pleased you called again and got through to Breathing Space. Delighted in fact.... great to hear!

Now that you know what services we have and their times, please continue to use us whenever you need to. We are here for you and are only too pleased to provide a listening ear, support, signposting and even a wee laugh, which is something we absolutely all need from time to time.

I wish you all the best and hope you are reassured that help is on hand for you when needed.

Please take care

Shona

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Patricia Kearns, North Lanarkshire Health & Social Care Partnership 2 months ago
Patricia Kearns
North Lanarkshire Health & Social Care Partnership
Submitted on 11/05/2020 at 11:14
Published on Care Opinion on 12/05/2020 at 10:25


Hi 1703

I really hope that you're feeling a lot better, and I'm so pleased that the information sent to you by my colleague Shona from NHS Lanarkshire was really helpful. Hopefully, there are better times round the corner! Very best regards.

Patricia

Patricia Kearns

Senior Officer, Quality Assurance, North Lanarkshire Health and Social Care Partnership

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful