"Newham maternity unit zone 4"

About: Newham General Hospital / Maternity care

(as the patient),

I was overdue with my pregnancy and midwife send me for induction. as in my birth plan I meant to give birth in mlu in newham hospital. As per arrival to hospital from zone 4 I been sent to other zone I believe in zone 3 (triage or assessment unit) midwife took my blood test and done baby's heart beat monitor for some time and then she came back with some induction meds for 24 hours I asked when I will be transfered to mlu she explain when contractions will start or water break.

shortly after contraction started and I asked again when I will be going to other unit she said when contraction gona be painful and regular at least few minutes apart. when they were 2-3 minutes apart I asked if its time to go she said there no reason to examine me as water hasn't broke yet I asked if I can have epidural or injection she said they don't have that option in this unit once again I told her that contractions is very painful and regular once again she said in rude manner that she has no reason to examine me as meds was only few hours in and contractions meant to be painful. (I was not examined since meds was in  that's around 6 hours)when I requested pain killer again she came back with paracetamol and some other pill when I asked what pills is it she said is what my doctor prescribed? ? (I did not discus anything like this with my doctor or/and who that doctor is? Or seen prescription myself)as another hour gone and my contraction was one minute apart I told her again but she just came  back with gass and put baby monitor.

After half and hour she took monitor off and I told her that I can I can feel my baby  literally  coming and I feel urge to push she said oh then I have to examine you. As soon as she started my water broke as was fully open and ready already so they took me in hurry to other floor with all bed and belongings. Around 30min after I already had my baby on the hands had normal delivery (4 kg baby without any painrelief) as it was too late for epidural or injections and my partner couldn't make it on time either to be with us. horrible experience and really disappointed with staff and service.


Response from Central Complaints Inbox, Barts Health NHS Trust last month
Central Complaints Inbox
Barts Health NHS Trust
Submitted on 28/04/2020 at 15:57
Published on Care Opinion on 29/04/2020 at 12:11

Dear Mother

Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback. May I also take this opportunity to congratulate you on the arrival of your new baby.

We were very disappointed to learn that your experience did not match the expectation you had of us. We would like an opportunity to investigate the issues you have raised and the findings of our enquires will be shared with you. We would therefore like to request that you contact our PALS team on site with your details- nuhpals.bartshealth@nhs.net or telephone 02073639292.

Thank you

Kind regards

Central Complaints

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful