"I have never been offered additional help"

About: Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow / Orthopaedics

(as the patient),

I am one of many people with osteoarthritis I have been waiting since October 2018  for a hip replacement which I was told I needed right away. This was over a year ago. I went for my third pre op recently which I passed but now I have been told there is no date in the near future for surgery, I do know this Coronavirus is a terrible thing that has happened through out the world and I can understand why operations are being stopped as I am classed as non-urgent, but I am in terrible pain all the time, can’t have a nights sleep, in a wheelchair now, find it difficult to go to the bathroom.

I have had no quality of life for such a long time now, I was always an active person and for the past year and a half I have not had any kind of life, this has also affected my family really badly, I did not think I could live with such pain but I have - the struggle is getting worse every day, the NHS Glasgow and Clyde have never offered me any kind of additional help, just been told there is a waiting list and people in front of me. Makes me feel that it does not matter how much pain I am in, I have just to go away and accept it. I know my body can’t take much more of this pain and suffering. Everyone stay safe and keep well.

Responses

Response from Rachel Pyle, Patient Experience Project Manager, Patient Experience Team, NHSGGC 8 months ago
Rachel Pyle
Patient Experience Project Manager, Patient Experience Team,
NHSGGC
Submitted on 27/03/2020 at 11:30
Published on Care Opinion at 11:30


picture of Rachel Pyle

Hello Please help me sleep and walk again,

I am very sorry that you have been made to feel 'that it doesn't matter how much pain you're in' and I'm so sorry to read that the pain is having such a big impact on and your family.

I have passed your feedback on to the General Manager, Susan Groom, who will be in touch with you. As you may be aware, our staff are under significant pressure due to the ongoing COVID-19 (Coronavirus) situation so there may be some delay in getting back to you. I can understand that this must be a frustrating and upsetting time for you, given that you are in substantial pain but I hope you will bear with us during this time.

All the very best,

Rachel

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Please help me sleep and walk again (the patient)

Thank you for your reply, I no how much pressure the NHS And Staff are under and I think they are doing a brilliant job with what they have,

You have got to understand I was referred to see a hip surgeon in October 2018 as I had not recovered the way I should have after having a back operation in June 2018 ( which I waited a year for, my condition has become progressively worse I am now in a wheel chair which I had to borrow as I am on an other waiting list for a wheel chair, if I would have received treatment well before now my health and quality of life would have been much better I am sure.

All I have ever been told is that I am not a priority and there are people in front of me, how do you think this makes me feel, so when this terrible virus end I will be left in limbo again, animals would not be left to suffer for this time it feels cruel, also all I have been told is go back to your GP. The GP can’t do surgery, this waiting time and uncertainty has affected my health,as I passed my first pre op in August 2019 and was told I could not get a date and if I got a date for surgery there was a 50% cancelled so this did not give me any hope, I had to go for another pre op in December 2019 which I failed due to my blood being low,I was told to go to my GP which I did and received treatment.

I received a phone call in January 2020 telling me I was taken off the waiting list for surgery due to being unfit and when I was fit enough I would go back on the list and try to be seen in 16 weeks, I was sent for another pre op in March 2020 ( third one ) Which I passed now I have no hope of getting surgery and just told to go back to my GP

I have never been told about steroid injections to help the pain I had to look on the internet myself, but I can’t have this as this is not classed as priority why was I not offered this before away back 2018, still haven't been offered this I have never wanted to jump the waiting list or asked to be treated with priority but it’s not humane to let people suffer like this.

Response from Rachel Pyle, Patient Experience Project Manager, Patient Experience Team, NHSGGC 8 months ago
Rachel Pyle
Patient Experience Project Manager, Patient Experience Team,
NHSGGC
Submitted on 30/03/2020 at 16:19
Published on Care Opinion at 16:19


picture of Rachel Pyle

Hello Please help me sleep and walk again,

I really am very sorry for the difficulty you have experienced in getting your operation and I apologise sincerely for all of the uncertainty you are facing. I can understand that it is a very frustrating and upsetting situation.

As I mentioned above, I have asked the General Manager from the service to get in touch with you. I hope that you will find this helpful and that Susan is able to provide you with some information. If you would find it useful, there is an independent organisation which can help you to provide feedback or share concerns, called the Patient Advice and Support Service. They can also help you to access other sources of support. You can out about this here: https://www.cas.org.uk/pass/how-we-can-help-you or contact them on 0800 917 2127.

I’m so sorry that you feel you will be left in limbo. It is not a decision that has been taken lightly but the Acute Hospitals are trying to limit the exposure of patients and families to risk factors, so there has been cancellation of appointments. I know that this will have a significant impact on yourself, but I want to reassure you that services are trying hard to minimise disruption and delays as much as possible.

In relation to the steroid injections you mention, I am not clinical member of staff so I cannot advise you on this but if it is possible to speak to your GP about this, then this is something that they will be able to advise you on.

I’m truly sorry again for your experience.

All the very best,
Rachel

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Navigation
Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Actions
Focus Search Box /