This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Break down in communications"

About: Rotherham Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

I am writing about my treatment at Rotherham District General Hospital in the Orthopaedic/pre-op wards. I had treatment on my knee joint.

The information given by the sister in the pre-operation clinic was excellent.

However, I felt annoyed at being sent to the day surgery, just to be told that they wouldn't accept me because of a blood disorder. I though this might happen and so had told the consultant, who wouldn't accept it - and set up the day surgery anyway. I think that I should have been listened to.

I would like to thank the nursing staff at the day surgery, as they understood how I felt, because they have to cope with people being sent to them unnecessarily. I would also like to thank the nursing staff and the sister in the pre-op clinic.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust 15 years ago
Submitted on 26/02/2008 at 10:58
Published on Care Opinion on 28/02/2008 at 00:00

Thank you for posting your opinion on the site. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with our pre-operative clinic service.

Unfortunately without specific details we are unable to ascertain why you were sent to Day Surgery when you had advised the Clinician of your blood disorder; we can only apologise for any inconvenience caused and will highlight your comments to the staff.

Kind regards.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k