"Discharged home with no medication"

About: The Royal London Hospital / Accident and emergency The Royal London Hospital / General medicine

(as a relative),

My father was admitted to ward 14e with a severe chest infection and was generally very poorly with no appetite, confusion and poor mobility. These symptoms came on very quickly and it was shocking to see him in such a deteriorated condition. After around 12 days, with not much evidence of any action being taken and conflicting stories from the dr, he was discharged despite my protestations that he was still very poorly. He was given no medication even though his chest and cough still seemed very bad.

He had no care support even though I pleaded for some help. He lasted at home for a week before ending up back on the ward. This time more tests were done but I still felt I wasn't really taken seriously when I asked about his physical condition and expressed the opinion that he wasn't fit to come home.

Again he was given no antibiotics on discharge despite obviously still suffering from pneumonia. He was provided with a carer package this time but the day after he was discharged the carer arrived an hour and a half too early and he fell on his way to the door to let them in.

He ended up back in a& e less than 24hrs after his second discharge where, when I tried to ask a doctor how we could ensure he received the proper care this time, I was faced with condescension and plain rudeness. At a difficult time with an extremely poorly father this was the final straw and was so unprofessional it was unbelievable.

Throughout the whole process I have felt undervalued, not listened to or taken seriously. Despite knowing the most about my father and willingly offering this information drs seemed to have made up their minds that he had dementia and did not take his physical wellbeing into enough consideration. I felt the care he received was negligent and have caused untold pain and suffering.  

Responses

Response from Central Complaints Inbox, Barts Health NHS Trust 6 months ago
Central Complaints Inbox
Barts Health NHS Trust
Submitted on 11/03/2020 at 10:00
Published on Care Opinion at 10:04


Thank you for taking time to contact us with feedback. We were very disappointed to learn about your father’s experience and that you felt you was not listened. We would like an opportunity to investigate the issues you have raised and the findings of our enquiries will be shared with you.

We would therefore like to request that you contact our PALs team on site with your details – rlhpals.bartshealth@nhs.net or telephone 0203 594 2040.

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve services. We look forward to hearing from you

Kind Regards

Traci, Central Complaints Officer

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Navigation
Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Actions
Focus Search Box /