"I felt I was left adrift"

About: University Hospital Hairmyres / Neurology

(as the patient),

I have epilepsy.   I had a good experience at Hairmyres hospital but I was disappointed that I could only see the neurologist once a year for about 20 mins. I felt I was left adrift as there was very little information about epilepsy from my GP and hospital. It took me some months to find a self-help group (Lanarkshire Epilepsy Support Group) and I find going to the group beneficial as I can speak to people with the same condition. I feel that if the GP surgeries and hospitals had this information it could help others.

More about:

Responses

Response from Angela Dixon, Interim Service Manager for Medical Directorate, University Hospital Hairmyres, NHS Lanarkshire last month
We are preparing to make a change
Angela Dixon
Interim Service Manager for Medical Directorate, University Hospital Hairmyres,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 10/03/2020 at 08:13
Published on Care Opinion at 10:56


picture of Angela Dixon

Hi giftbz89

Thank you for getting in touch with us via Care Opinion. I am pleased to hear you had a good experience at Hairmyres however I am sorry to hear you then felt disappointed by the lack of information.

As you are now aware we have the Lanarkshire Epilepsy Support Group and it sounds like you have had a good experience of the group and that others would benefit from this too.

I will look into this with the Neurology Team and consider if there is something we can do to ensure people with a diagnosis of Epilepsy are aware of the group and are given details of how to access and/or contact the group for support.

Best Wishes

Angela

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful