This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?


About: Liverpool Womens Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

I went for a hysteroscopy at the Women's in Liverpool.  All online resources say that this is only mildly or not at all painful. Through all the pre-op conversations and meetings I have with both nurses and doctors, I was given the impression I would be given a local anaesthetic for the procedure. I walked into the room that day expecting to feel discomfort, but no pain due to the local anaesthetic I believed was going to be administered.

What happened was that I was not given an anaesthetic and subjected to a procedure that was at first uncomfortable and made me feel sick as they prepared, then as they started to dilate my cervix to put the tube in, I felt pain like I have never experienced before. I burst into tears and it took several minutes before I could calm down.

The result was that the hysteroscopy failed as I was in too much pain.

It was a horrific experience that I was not at all prepared for by the information supplied beforehand. Why any doctor would start a procedure that has the capacity to cause so much pain to the patient without an anaesthetic is beyond me.

Now I have to wait for them to re-book me for another hysteroscopy, this time with an anaesthetic. This is not good for me as a patient waiting to find out what is wrong with me, and also not good financially for the hospital as I now have to have two procedures instead of one to get a result.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Michelle Morgan, Head of Audit, Effectiveness and Experience, Liverpool Women's NHS Foundation Trust 2 years ago
Michelle Morgan
Head of Audit, Effectiveness and Experience,
Liverpool Women's NHS Foundation Trust
Submitted on 23/07/2020 at 11:56
Published on Care Opinion at 11:56

We are very sorry to hear of the experience you have described at our Trust. The Trust strives to provide the best possible care for our patients and we are very sorry that you have felt that the care you received is not to the standard that we would expect.

Please would you contact our Patient Experience Team on 0151 702 4353 or via email on

The team would like to discuss your experience with you and to see if we can provide any help and support for you at this difficult time.


Michelle Morgan

Head of Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k