"Rude staff"

About: Millbrook Mental Health Unit

(as a relative),

Went to see my partner. The staff refused to let me see them even though they wanted to see us.

The staff were rude and yelled at us. Absolutely disgusted. No wonder people are the way that they are. Very unhappy with how the staff treated my partner as a patient

More about:

Responses

Response from Sally Redgate, Acute Service Manager (North), Millbrook Mental Health Unit, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust 3 months ago
Sally Redgate
Acute Service Manager (North), Millbrook Mental Health Unit,
Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust
Submitted on 13/02/2020 at 11:14
Published on Care Opinion on 14/02/2020 at 10:15


Thank you for taking the time to report this but I would like to say that I am sorry you have had this experience from our unit.

The Trust is very clear with its expectations of staff and their professional conduct, we do not expect or support staff who are not acting in a respectful, polite and professional manner. If staff are seen or reported to be acting in such a manner we will address this with the specific staff.

I see that your report refers to Millbrook unit but I would like to know which ward/area you had this experience with and I can address the issues you raise about your partner's care, if you could contact me on the details below it will help me address this issue with the staff member and the line management.

Once again I would like to apolgise

Sally Redgate

Acute Service Manager, County North and Bassetlaw

Millbrook Unit

0115 969 1300 x 14339

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Jane Danforth, Involvement & Experience Officer, Involvement, Experience and Volunteering Team, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust 3 months ago
We are preparing to make a change
Jane Danforth
Involvement & Experience Officer, Involvement, Experience and Volunteering Team,
Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Hello, my name is Jane Danforth. I help people who use our services to understand that Notts Healthcare wants to hear stories about our services to improve what we do and to hear about what is working well too.

Submitted on 15/02/2020 at 07:06
Published on Care Opinion on 17/02/2020 at 12:12


picture of Jane Danforth

Dear filingwn79

I'm also really sorry you had a bad experience when attempting to visit your partner, this shouldn't happen. Thank you for your honesty. Please ring Sally to talk about this as It will help us to improve our services which we hope will reduce more stories like yours being shared on Care Opinion.

One more thing we can do is to add the ward or service where this happened to our Care Opinion directory on their website making it easier to contact the right service. Staff will then be able to receive an e-mail alert when anyone shares their story in future about the exact ward or service where your partner is a patient. It will be really helpful to us and all current and future patients and relatives..

Just reply to me in the box below and I will make sure it is included.

I hope you feel able to ring Sally to discuss what happened.

I wish your partner well in their recovery.

Thank you

Jane

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful