"Suicide Attempt was not seen by Psych Team"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

(as a service user),

I was rushed to hospital after a Suicide attempt. The Cause was an Overdose of CD Medication. Was dumped in a wheelchair and carted to Resuss where the nurses were arguing with the Doctor about NO BEDS in Resuss. The ward had 2 patients in there. There were plenty of beds. Finally put on a bed Stretcher and hooked up to an ECG Machine. The machine kept sounding an alarm to which no-one was concerned. They would simply walk past and start chatting about their personal lives to another nurse. We got given a bedpan covered in dry blood. I overheard the nurses talking about me in such a way that I didnt have to be in there. The words were the the effect of -why is he even in here theres nothing wrong with him.  My Heart rate was averaging 120bpm my blood pressure was averaging 150/98. I was offered food but the nurse intruded and said I'm going to Majors. I have a full copy of all observations.

The main nurse was begging the doctor to discharge me. They  paced ahead of me and put me in Majors Lite where I sat with a drip from 1pm until 11am the next day. During that time there were No check ups except a medical doctor at 9pm. 22 hours in the same waiting area (which weren't busy).

I discharged myself after 4 hours at Keats ward (thats 2pm the next day) and proceeded to attempt suicide in the grounds of Medway Hospital. I was unsuccessful.

Made a complaint it took a while to be acknowledged and updated.


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

We are really sorry to learn of your poor experience. We have responded to you via Care Opinion and we would like to echo our advice regarding making contact with the PALS team on 01634 825004 or medwayft.pals@nhs.net. The PALS team are more than happy to discuss your care with you and learn more about your poor experience.

Kindest regards,

The Patient Experience Team

  • GLASS HALF FULL doesn't think this response is helpful
    {{helpful}} other {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} it is helpful

Update posted by GLASS HALF FULL (a service user)

I have contacted PALS and I am yet to get a response to the complaint. The deadline is the 20th January 2020. Your response on Care Opinion is not helpful. I anticipate the same kind of response to my Formal Complaint. Overlooked, belittled and above all Unhelpful.

Response from Patient Experience Manager, Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Good morning,

It is very difficult to know if we have received and registered your concerns via PALS or the complaints team as we cannot identify you from the forums you have shared your experience on. We have, however, checked to see if there are any concerns similar to the ones you describe registered already and there are not.

Please do make contact with the PALS team on 01634 825004 once more and if you ask for Claire she will be more than happy to speak with you. If you would prefer to email please make your email for the attention of Claire. medwayft.pals@nhs.net and she will respond.

kindest regards,

The Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful