About: Forth Valley Royal Hospital / Outpatients

(as a service user),

I am in tears. I visited A and E last night with pain and swelling in calf after having a knee operation the day before. A and E staff were brilliant and I saw a lovely orthopaedic doctor (beard and glasses don't know his name). I was given a blood thinning injection and Outpatient DVT Service leaflet. He circled a number that I was to call to get a time for a DVT ultrasound to be carried out today. And here the upsetting fiasco began.

The number the doctor circled in the leaflet is the wrong number 01324 567511. I rang this number in the morning and was told by a somewhat brusque staff member that I had dialled the wrong number and I had come through to a ward on 509. They said what I would need to do was phone main reception. I think what the hospital needs to do is update the number on the DVT leaflets. When I explained to this staff member how upsetting it is to be getting checked for a DVT their manner was kinder. It is not my fault that the number the doctor in good faith, circled for me on the leaflet, is the wrong number.

I then phoned main reception to ask to be put through to the correct number to arrange my DVT ultrasound for today. The receptionist put me through to daycare. The phone rang for a while and said all staff were busy to leave message with my details and they would call me back. I then called back reception to let them know about the leaflet having the wrong number and that I had phoned daycare to get ultrasound appointment. I was then told daycare was closed for the weekend, so nobody would have called me back till Monday for an ultrasound I was to get today. I could hear my voice cracking as I told this staff member that A and E said I was to arrange ultrasound for today. I was then put through to someone who told me I am booked in for 11. 10 that day. Thankfully I am getting an ultrasound today.

BUT the number on the DVT Service outpatient leaflet requires to be changed. The divert that is on that number redirecting it to whatever ward is on 509 needs to be removed. Staff on main reception need to be trained to tell callers BEFORE putting them through to say medicine that it is closed at weekends and messages will not be received till Monday so that the caller has the opportunity to tell the receptionist that it's a matter that needs dealt with at the weekend.

I have no doubt that I will receive excellent treatment when I get to ultrasound but the support peripherals need improved. this upset was avoidable. I have literally just had a call from a nurse to let me know that an ultrasound has been arranged for me at 11. 10. So another twist to the story


Response from Lisa Fabisiak, Lead Advanced Nurse Practitioner, Medical Directorate, NHS Forth Valley We are preparing to make a change

I'm sorry that you have had to come to hospital and that you had difficulty trying to arrange your ultrasound. We are in the process of updating the pathway for patients we are concerned have a DVT and it seems you were given an old leaflet. I will contact the Emergency Department today to make sure they have the correct contact details for patients to call. Please be reassured that despite this your scan had been arranged and the staff in the Clinical Assessment Unit were aware of that you would be coming in. I hope the rest of your journey went more smoothly and that you were able to have some reassurance regarding your painful and swollen leg.

Best wishes


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful