This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Cancelled due to lack of beds"

About: University Hospital Wishaw / Ear, Nose & Throat

(as a parent/guardian),

My Son was referred for ENT Surgery in August. He was due to have it this week after 17 weeks of waiting but I was called the day before saying it was cancelled due to lack of beds. Now the time my son actually gets the surgery he would have waited 21 weeks that a disgrace my son's suffered enough and also I had to book time off work, plus had to arranged care for my other child. What if I can't get those arrangements again the next time. Plus I am going to have to take him to other pre assessment which is more time I'll need to take off work and also what a waste of NHS Money.

More about:


Response from Pauline Warnock, Service Manager - Surgical, University Hospital Wishaw, NHS Lanarkshire nearly 2 years ago
Pauline Warnock
Service Manager - Surgical, University Hospital Wishaw,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 20/12/2019 at 10:46
Published on Care Opinion at 10:46

Dear Tired 33,

I am really sorry that we had to cancel your son`s operation, this is not something that we do lightly as we understand the pressure this puts on people. Unfortunately we have had bed issues especially in last few weeks and this has been due to the high number of unwell emergency patients that are in the hospital.

To ensure your son`s operation goes ahead on the new date please contact Yvonne Ross our patients affairs manager with your son`s detail.

Please accept my apologies for the situation we have put you in.



  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /