"Hospital care"

About: Crosshouse Hospital / Accident & Emergency

(as a relative),

My mum has a chronic condition: crohns. She’s been admitted twice in 6 weeks as an emergency. Second time (2 weeks ago) she was moved From a bed and onto a chair in a corridor propped up with jackets and dressing gowns while she was on drips of antibiotics and steroids, with morphine. She was slumping on the chair. I was upset. She sat there for 5 hours until they found a bed. I cannot and will not hear any negative comments about the care she received. The nurses were fantastic. The on call consultant (fortuitously a gastro consultant) was apologetic and just simply brilliant. It’s not the staff fault there are too many poorly people and not enough beds. Being in hospital is stressful. It is upsetting. Especially some of the really poor people you see and hear (there is no privacy for anyone) but our experiences are short lived. The staff have this stress and upset every day for what can be 40 years of a career. Thank you.  

Responses

Response from Claire Gilroy, Specialty Doctor, Emergency Department, University Hospital Crosshouse, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Claire Gilroy

Dear For Mum,

I am sorry to hear that your mum has been so unwell recently that she has required two hospital admissions. I am also sorry that she has had to be treated in the corridor where there is no privacy. I am not surprised you were upset and I am sorry that this was your experience of our department. This is not the level of care that we want to provide and as an Emergency Department Team we do not think it is acceptable.

I am pleased to hear that despite this the nurses were fantastic and that your mum was seen quickly by the on call gastroenterology consultant. Your feedback will mean a lot to our team. I will ensure that it is shared at our morning huddle tomorrow and with the gastroenterology consultants.

Claire

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
;