"Midwifery Care"

About: Stoke Mandeville Hospital / Maternity Wycombe Hospital / Maternity

(as a service user),

Having had a different midwife for every appointment with my first child and had terrible after care I was naturally worried when it came to having my second child.

From the first contact with the midwifery service I had to chase for a booking in appointment, multiple messages left and never responded to.  I finally managed to get booked in and saw a "covering" midwife as mine was too busy.  Had to go to Wycombe birth centre rather than my local surgery and pay for parking etc. Having sat through my booking in appointment in tears re-living the awful experience and lack of care I had received last time I was assured it would be better this time round.  I have now had 3 appointments and seen 3 different midwives again, have left messages and not had any response, been told opposing things from different midwives.  

I am already concerned about giving birth again in Bucks and unfortunately my experience to date is increasing anxiety and stress rather than relieving it - not ideal in a hormonal and pregnant woman.


Response from Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear Madam

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on this website.

I am sorry to read of the problems you have experienced in trying to book appointments with the midwives.

I was also sorry to learn that you had to chase for bookings and were not responded to despite leaving multiple messages.

I would be very grateful if you could contact the Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on 01296 316042 to talk about your specific experience, and to see how we may be able to assist you at this time.

In the meantime I will share your comments with the maternity ward at Stoke Mandeville and Wycombe Hospital.

Kind regards

Anthony Banton


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful