"Health & Hygiene on Phoenix Ward"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital / Urology

Where shall I start. Staff did not read my medical notes from UCHL as I asked for a bowl to take a wee and nurse brought me 2 bottles, my notes state that I have had a perineal urethrostomy so if notes had been read they would know that bottles could not be used.Infection control was zero basic nursing care poor due to under staffing. Hygiene in wash room and toilet facilities was extremely poor and major health hazard due to it being flooded towels put on floor and left to soak it up, discarded soiled underwear. Food was inedible often burnt did not look healthy or appealing unless you had cereal. I never got introduced to the staff, first time I met Ward Sister was when I was discharged and on my way out.I feel that I was lucky that I never got an even worse infection than what I arrived with. All my findings are based on my stays in other NHS hospitals and other wards in Medway Maritime I feel a lot of this is down to poor management and lack of leadership on the ward because these problems were what 1st year nurses would learn.

Story from nhs.uk


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital 12 months ago
Medway Maritime Hospital
Submitted on 25/09/2019 at 09:42
Published on nhs.uk at 10:06

Thank you for your feedback. We are really disappointed that you had such a poor experience and are keen to learn more about it so that we can better understand what we can do to remedy the aspects of care that you were unhappy with. Please contact our PALS team (patient advice and liaison) and they will be happy to assist you. The PALS team can be contacted on 01634 825004 or medwayft.pals@nhs.net

Kindest regards,

The Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /