"Please avoid if you can! Terrible experience"

About: Northwick Park Hospital / Maternity

I delivered my baby 6 days ago at Queen Charlottes and had the most wonderful experience. Hospital clean. Staff amazing. Service efficient. All in all, I will have some beautiful memories to look back on which is exactly what you want!

As I moved a matter of weeks ago, I had to attend Northwick Park for my antenatal care. I received a call one morning for an appointment a matter of hours later. I was rang three times ahead of my appointment to check I was coming. I have had some mobility issues following my birth and so it took me a little longer than expected to get ready, out and actually walk what felt like miles within the hospital to the maternity section. I had rang the hospital to apologise and arrived around 15 minutes late.

The midwife greeted me by looking at the clock and shooing me into the room. She rushed for my partner to undress my baby and literally pullled my bottoms and knickers down, even squirming at my stitches! I was horrified and really concerned. She barely looked at the baby, just throwing him on the scales and then taking his heel prick. She then informed me he had lost weight. I queried if that was okay and she responded that she needed to work it out on her phone!!!!

I was desperate to discuss my concerns around my son being tougne tied and having mild jaundice but she didn't listen at all and asked what advice the other midwife had given. When I then asked about my mobility follo isn't Yh birth she turned and said to go to my gp.

I was so so concerned and left booking an emergency appiontment with my gp. I luckily have a very supportive family but I really feel for any woman that need that appointment more than anything.

I would never usually write a review. I was actually google searching how I can change my midwife care!!

I am horrified at the experinace. It was appalling.

Story from nhs.uk


Response from Sue Fenwick Elliott, Head of Patient Experience, London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust 10 months ago
Sue Fenwick Elliott
Head of Patient Experience,
London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust
Submitted on 10/09/2019 at 14:03
Published on Care Opinion at 14:03

Dear Madam,

Congratulations on the birth of your son.

I am so sorry to read of your poor experience when visiting our Trust, especially during what should be a happy and exciting time.

I have shared your comments with the department who will be sad to hear them.

I am particularly sorry to hear that we were not able to address your pressing concerns around your mobility and your son's tongue tie and weight loss. I understand you have managed to secure an appointment with your GP. However if you feel you would like another appointment with us or would like us to follow this up on your behalf, please contact the PALS team on 0208 869 5118 or LNWH-tr.PALS@nhs.net. Unfortunately we cannot identify you from your post nor haow to contact you.

Wishing you and your little one all the best.

Best wishes

Anjali Patel

Patient Experience Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful