"Awful experience giving birth 3rd time"

About: St Thomas' Hospital / Maternity care

This will be my third labour here at St Thomas’s. I had been booked for an induction due to GDM. Arrived on Friday 2nd August at 11:30am. I hadn’t been prepared for the horrid experience ahead. Firstly, doctors did not inform me of the uncertain lengthy process of induction. I was advised not to take any medication whilst being induced ( I’m on Metformin 3x a day). The midwifes at the hospital strongly advised that I continue taking it to control glucose levels which totally makes sense as the hospital food isn’t Diabetic friendly and will send your high level flying through the roof!!! Secondly, I wasn’t emotionally prepared for the whole unethical experience. I felt like a caged animal amongst other women in agony as we were all suffering from artificial contractions. I was contracting 3x in 10 minutes, put onto gas and air, only to wake up to a false alarm whilst other screaming women were being rolled into the birthing centre, some had been only on the ward for 6 hrs! I had been Contracting for 48 hours! One progress inserted and two progastaglandin gels and three examinations later, I was laying in a hospital bed that hadn’t been changed since my arrival!!!!! This has been a horrific 48 hours. When I asked to speak to a consultant or doctor, they reassured me once a bed becomes available, I’d be the next patient transferred to have my waters broken. Really? Another 48 hours on the ward? I wish I’d taken more control over the whole process and requested an elected C-section instead of the agonising wait. Childbirth should be an intimate and enjoyable experience. I felt as if it robbed me of the joys of childbirth. In the end it left me wanting to just go home and wish away the whole experience.

Story from nhs.uk


Response from St Thomas' Hospital 7 months ago
St Thomas' Hospital
Submitted on 31/01/2020 at 16:37
Published on nhs.uk at 17:33

Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry to read about the experience you had last summer. It was clearly very stressful and upsetting for you. If you haven't aready done so you may wish to make a formal complaint about your experience so that this can be learnt from.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /