"Children’s Radiology"

About: Leeds General Infirmary / Radiology

(as a service user),

No welcome from the receptionist. No smile, no hello. They weren't rude but lacklustre and appeared to be long overdue a break. 

Outdated children’s waiting area with dirty toys and a leaking roof. Buckets and sheets collecting leaking water but no cordon in place and no warning sign.

The member of staff who collected us from the waiting area just shouted the child’s name and walked off expecting us to follow her. No smile, no hello and most importantly no introduction. She was wearing a name badge however which I made sure I paid attention to.

The member of staff who did the scan was pleasant, said hello and smiled. Winning. She introduced herself, but did not wear an ID badge. Isn't it Trust policy to wear an ID badge at all times?

We were kept waiting past the appointment time. No update and no apology. I don’t mind waiting for a valuable appointment but an update on waiting times would be appreciated as they do so well in other areas of the Trust.

I did like the staff board with all names and pictures on. Couldn’t see the receptionist on there though so maybe needs an update. Also a staff board shouldn’t replace the need for ID badges or a simple introduction.


Response from Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust 14 months ago
Submitted on 10/06/2019 at 12:25
Published on Care Opinion at 12:25

Good Morning

I am very sorry to hear about the recent experience at the Radiology Department at Leeds General Infirmary. The level of service that you have described is not what we wish to offer.

I have passed your comments onto the business manager for the department so that they can address the issues that you have raised

It would be very beneficial for our services and for future patients if you could discuss the matters you have raised further with our Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS). This would also allow us look into the matters you have raised more thoroughly.

Please call our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net


Senior Nurse

Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by LeedsLeeds (a service user)

Thanks for the response but I do not wish to contact PALS and chose specifically to share my experience on Care Opinion.

Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /