"Unresponsive 2 month old baby"

About: Accident & Emergency / Children's A&E Crosshouse Hospital / Paediatrics Scottish Ambulance Service / Emergency Ambulance

(as a parent/guardian),

Last week I experienced a situation which is every new parent’s nightmare. I woke up in the night to my baby making a strange noise. I found him to be pale, unresponsive and completely limp. I am an adult nurse but my mind went blank and I can honestly say I didn’t know what to do except call for help.

The lady 999 operator was wonderful. She managed to get enough information out of me in my panicked state to assess the situation and talk me through how to maintain my babies airway to help him breath. The 17 minute wait for an ambulance felt like forever but her presence through talking me through it was reassuring. Eventually my baby coughed up some mucus just as the paramedics where arriving and started moving his legs again.

The paramedics who arrived where a God send. The first to get to my baby was a mum of 6 children. I was informed of this very early on by the second ambulance paramedics who arrived and said Your in good hands there. As a mum of 6 she knows what she’s doing. That was such a relief for me to hear. They where able to clear more mucus from my babies airway and warm him up before getting us to crosshouse in record time. Truly they saved the day.

Once at ED the staff where again amazing. Even though my baby’s airway was clear by this stage and he was responsive, they still had the eyes to recognise that he wasn’t quite himself. The warmed him up, gave him fluids and ruled out underlying infection. Quickly with their care he bounced back to his happy self and we were able to go up to the ward. The doctor who had treated us in ED reviewed us upstairs explaining everything every step of the way. Her conscientiousness gave me the reassurance I needed after such a frightening night. 

Finally the staff at ward 1b where lovely. They taught me infant basic life support which gave me the confidence I needed to know what to do if this every occurs again. There was one nursing assistant in particular called Jill who normally covers Neonate who was extra kind to us just before we left. 

These amazing people made a horrible situation  much better. I am so greatful for every single one of them and for our amazing NHS. 

Responses

Response from Attica Wheeler, Head of Midwifery (Associate Nurse Director Women and Childrens Services), Ayrshire Maternity Unit, NHS Ayrshire and Arran 14 months ago
Attica Wheeler
Head of Midwifery (Associate Nurse Director Women and Childrens Services), Ayrshire Maternity Unit,
NHS Ayrshire and Arran

Manages the midwifery service and women and children's service

Submitted on 29/01/2019 at 13:31
Published on Care Opinion at 14:47


Dear SJYMac

I held my breath reading your feedback as it describes the situation that every parent dreads. What a stressful time for you all!

Thank you for giving us such wonderful information that I can share with the teams involved in the care of your little boy. It means a lot to us to know we made a difficult situation bearable for you with a positive outcome.

I was delighted to hear that he made a full recovery and is back home with you.

Thank you again and best wishes to your little one

Attica

  • SJYMac thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too
Response from Claire Gilroy, Specialty Doctor, Emergency Department, University Hospital Crosshouse, NHS Ayrshire and Arran 14 months ago
Claire Gilroy
Specialty Doctor, Emergency Department, University Hospital Crosshouse,
NHS Ayrshire and Arran

Emergency

Submitted on 29/01/2019 at 15:42
Published on Care Opinion at 17:12


picture of Claire Gilroy

Dear SJYMac,

I cannot being to imagine what you went through that night. It is indeed every parent's worst nightmare. I am so pleased that your baby has made a full recovery.

It sounds as if you experienced the kind of care we want to provide every time. Hearing the kind of things that helped reassure you during this frightening episode is something that we can all learn from.

I am glad that your experience in the ED was 'amazing'. I will share your feedback with all staff at our morning huddle tomorrow however, if you would like it to be given directly to all staff who looked after you and your baby then please email me at Claire.Gilroy@nhs.net with your baby's date of birth and date of attendance.

Claire

  • SJYMac thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too
Response from Alan Martin, Patient Experience Manager, Corporate Affairs and Engagement, Scottish Ambulance Service 14 months ago
Alan Martin
Patient Experience Manager, Corporate Affairs and Engagement,
Scottish Ambulance Service
Submitted on 30/01/2019 at 08:35
Published on Care Opinion at 10:07


picture of Alan Martin

Dear SJYMac,

I am so sorry that this happened to you. This must have been so scary. My little girl is 20 weeks old and even as a paramedic I think I would have a very similar reaction. I just cannot imagine what must have been going through your head.

I am however very pleased with the impression that you were left with and the fact that you feel our crew 'saved the day'. It is so lovely to hear that. It is also so nice to hear that the call handler was wonderful. Often the people at the end of the phone are forgotten about and its just lovely for them to get recognition.

I know that you have already been asked to make contact but I think this is a really lovely story that I would love to share with the staff's manager and make sure they receive your feedback. Can I ask that you email me at alan.martin2@nhs.net. I will need a few details such as date, time and address the vehicle attended.

Kind Regards

Alan

  • SJYMac thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too
Response from Claire Gilroy, Specialty Doctor, Emergency Department, University Hospital Crosshouse, NHS Ayrshire and Arran 14 months ago
Claire Gilroy
Specialty Doctor, Emergency Department, University Hospital Crosshouse,
NHS Ayrshire and Arran

Emergency

Submitted on 30/01/2019 at 22:53
Published on Care Opinion on 31/01/2019 at 09:02


picture of Claire Gilroy

Dear SJYMac,

Thank you for getting in touch offline. Andrea, one of the nurses who looked after your baby, was on shift and she was absolutely delighted to read your feedback. Simon the doctor was not in today but I have emailed him your feedback and I'm sure he'll be equally as delighted.

I also shared it at our team morning huddle. We share these stories with our whole team so that everyone has the chance to learn. I read recently that positive feedback increases productivity by 12%. I am in no doubt that you have positively influenced our team by taking the time to share your experience and that this in turn will have improved the experience of people attending our department today. Thank you for this.

Claire

  • SJYMac thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too