"Surgery recovery for baby"

About: Royal Hospital for Children (Glasgow) / Paediatric surgery

(as a parent/guardian),

Baby boy of 4 months had surgery for & when he was moved to ward this is where it was unacceptable. 

- Noise of night nurses in corridor late on made it very difficult to sleep

- Fold down bed was given sheets & pillow case by nurse in evening & I was told to make it myself even though I’d been consoling my infant who hadn’t been able to sleep 

- Asked to be put in separate room as never got any sleep & too much noise due to visitors but this was declined & baby didn’t get any sleep from surgery at 12pm on a Monday until 5am in Tue morning

- lastly there was parents allowed to sit in ward & cough away waking baby again even though their child wasn’t out of surgery whereas we rightly had to sit in waiting room until baby was ready 

- cannula left in baby’s wrist after been taken home & had to return back to hospital to get it removed 



Response from Pamela McGoldrick, Senior Organisational Development Advisor, Women & Children's Services, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

picture of Pamela McGoldrick

Dear N-A

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Care Opinion.

I am sorry to hear that your young son had to come in for surgery and I hope he is now recovering well at home.

It is disappointing to hear that your experience was not of the standard we would expect. You have raised a number of important issues and it would be helpful if we could review these in more detail. If you are happy to do so please contact me at Pamela.mcgoldrick@ggc.scot.nhs.uk and I can advise what additional information we need and engage with you directly to address the issues you have highlighted.

Best wishes


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful