This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?


About: Bradford Royal Infirmary

What I liked

Very little.

I have no doubt that some Dr and nurses may care, but you can easily be left wondering how on earth some of the Dr,s and nurses at this hospital have ever manage to quality. Some junior Dr,s will just look at you and be able to offer nothing much in way of medical information. Whilst some nurses seem to care, there are those that clearly do not care, and make it very obvious that they don't. Far too many very young Dr,s who have nothing to say, and far too many very young nurses who have the most minimal of abilities, but yet blend in with all the other nurses. The place is one big mix up. The hospital building is old and out dated, over crowded and dirty. In my experience, the BRI is detrimental to a persons health., because they is too much negligence. I will do my best to avoid treatment at the BRI, in future.

What could be improved

a new hospital needs to be built.

More about: logo


Response from Bradford Royal Infirmary 4 years ago
Bradford Royal Infirmary
Submitted on 02/11/2016 at 12:24
Published on on 03/11/2016 at 01:31

Hello, I am really sorry you did not get a response to this at the time. We think this was because of a technical problem with the site which meant some posts were not feeding through to us. We have only just become aware of this and are working with NHS Choices to put it right. I am also really sorry that you had such a negative experience. We are a teaching hospital and most hospitals will have a mix of staff in training, recently qualified and experienced staff.

However we do not want people to feel that this puts them at any sort of disadvantage, and we know too there are advantages to being a teaching hospital for patients.

We have also made real improvements in the standard of cleanliness, and recent inspection scores provide evidence of this, including inspections done by trained members of the public who act as patient representatives.

This is an old hospital which brings its own challenges.

A number of areas have been completely refurbished since the time of your post, a new wing is about to be opened, and there is an ongoing programme of work to bring areas up to modern standards. So much time has passed that it is difficult to do anything now about your concerns, but please be assured we are working hard to make sure all our patients get the best possible care.

If you still have any concerns ro do so in the future please don't hesitate to ask to speak to a senior member of the ward staff, or the Matron, or contact our Patient Experience Manager on 01274 364810, so we can investigate and take any action necessary. Thank you for your feedback and apologies again for the delay.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k