This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Excellent apart from the phone rssponse"

About: Frenchay Hospital

What I liked

I was attended to speedily and efficiently.and courteously.

What could be improved

I was told I would receive a follow up appointment (by phone and in writing) the following week

None having arrived by today-2 weeks later-I tried vainly to phone the dept.

I was told repeatedly that the line was busy.

After an hour,I gave up.-life is too short at my age.

I am retired -heaven help anybody who has a job and has to find time to make phone contact

with you.

( My complaint is not the delay in receiving the appointment. It is the impossibilityn of making

phone contact-this lets the hospital down.) logo


Response from Frenchay Hospital 9 years ago
Frenchay Hospital
Submitted on 13/01/2012 at 12:44
Published on on 14/01/2012 at 04:00

Dear 3523pete – Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. I wish to apologise for any inconvenience and anxiety caused due to problems with the running of, and arrangements for North Bristol NHS Trust’s (NBT) clinics. At NBT we have been implementing a new electronic patient record system which will ultimately improve services for our patients.

However, I am aware that certain clinics have experienced some unexpected problems in the last few weeks with outpatient appointments as a consequence of the new system. I regret that some patients have been inconvenienced because of this. Unfortunately these problems have resulted in an unprecedented number of phone calls to the hospital which has meant that staff have been unable to respond to all incoming calls. I can only apologise for this.

Our Information Management & Technology Team, have been working very hard to sort out any initial issues as quickly as possible and we are already seeing improvements.

I would like to thank you for your patience during this transition period and reassure you that everything possible is being done to resolve the problems and correct the situation. Staff will be in contact to inform you of your new appointment arrangements.

Kind regards – Steve Sykes

Advice and Complaints Team Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k