This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Unpleasant and disorganised"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

What could be improved

I visited Bolton Hospital after being referred from Care UK. Care Uk found a cyst on one of my ovaries and referred me to the hospital for further tests and treatment. My first appointment at the hospital was with a junior doctor who hadnt seen and didnt have access to any of my notes so had no idea of my condition. I had to explain it to him and he then said that 'it's probably polysystic ovaries' and I should go on the pill. I had to tell him that I needed to have certain blood tests and ask for these to be done which were then finally arranged. The junior doctor also insisted on conducting an internal examination which was truly awful, I'm not sure that he had much practise at this.

The blood test revealed that I actually have a simple ovarian cyst - I'm now waiting for my next appointment to see how to treat it. I have been back and forth with this and the waiting time at the hospital when I have been for appointments means that I'm there for a few hours. It's not been a pleasant experience. On a positive note there are some very nice, caring nurses who clearly work hard. I think the organisation of the system is letting them down. logo


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital 9 years ago
Royal Bolton Hospital
Submitted on 10/01/2012 at 16:03
Published on on 11/01/2012 at 04:01

Thankyou for your comments. We were very concerned to read you had a negative experience with us, and would very much welcome the opportunity to investigate these matters for you. Would you please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALs) on 01204 390193 and we will happily look into your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k