About: Medway Maritime Hospital / General Medicine

(as a relative),

My father is in his 80s and needs an operation, but he is too weak for it.

He’s had maggot therapy and a debridlement.

We have found the staff on duty in the ward during the day to be excellent.

However, at night we feel that the level of care drops alarmingly.

On his medication chart it states that he is allergic to morphine. On 3 occasions he’s been offered morphine and on one occasion he was administered it.

The bandage covering the maggots and what were his toes, came loose. When a nurse attended him, they just covered it over with the same dirty bandage and left the blood soaked bed sheet on.

One morning, we did not see any patient on the ward having their bed changed that morning meaning the day staff had extra work to do.

I’ve emailed PALS twice and left a voice mail message. No response.


Response from Patient Experience Manager, Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your concerns about the care during the night and would like to find out more about the poor experience.

We understand that you have contacted PALS and at the time had not received a response. Please do make contact again, if you have still not heard, as we would be glad to learn more about what went wrong.

Kindest regards,

The Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful