This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Complete and utter waste of time, appalling..."

About: Lincoln County Hospital

What I liked

There were a handful of nurses that were polite and kind.

What could be improved

Everything! I was admitted to the hospital through SEAU after being sent there by my doctor. The doctors were unsure of what was wrong with me and told me I would have to wait until monday for an ultrasound scan as they don't do them on weekends! Originally they believed it to be appendicitis so I spent all weekend waiting in pain worrying that my appendix could burst at any point. In the ultrasound scan they couldn't find my appendix so I was returned to the ward and had to wait until the next day to see the doctor again. At this point the doctor tried to discharge me however I refused to leave until they had done something about it or had got rid of the pain at least. They sent me for a CT scan the next day and once again I had to wait until the day afterwards to see a doctor regardless of the fact that I knew the nurses had my results. The next day the doctors decided they were referring my to gynaecology and pain management however today (friday 16th december) The doctors informed me, very rudely, that both gynaecology and pain management did not wish to talk to me. At this point the doctor told me the hospital could do nothing for me and I obviously was not in as much pain as I thought. I discharged myself. Throughout my week in hospital the staff were extremely rude and mean. On one occasion I buzzed five times and it took the nurse 45minutes to answer by which point my entire body was spasming, I was crying and in agony. The attitude of staff was appalling, I could hear them discussing patients on a personal level. The doctors were rude and spent no more than five minutes with you - if they came to see you at all. The nurses would kick you out of bed at 7am regardless of the fact you could hardly move and were drugged up on painkillers. Im making a formal complaint. logo


Response from Jennie Negus, Head of Patient Experience, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust 9 years ago
Jennie Negus
Head of Patient Experience,
United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust
Submitted on 28/05/2012 at 15:40
Published on Care Opinion at 15:43

picture of Jennie Negus

I appreciate that our response to you is quite some time after you wrote and told us about your experience and I am very sorry for that; however we now have a process across the Trust to be regularly checking and responding to Patient Opinion. Please be assured that even after this time your comments are valuable. I am sorry that you have clearly had a difficult and distressing time and I would like to offer my sincere apologies. I note that you stated you would be contacting out complaints department; please do not hesitate to contact us at if you have any further or outstanding concerns. Thank you once again.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k