This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Very poor patient care, no empathy and left to..."

About: The Princess Royal Hospital (Telford)

What I liked

I wasadmitted into the hospital in complete agony which was diagnosed as renal colic. it is difficult to think of anything I liked about the stay. At one point I was willing to get in a taxi and go to a different hospital to get a better standard of care and get the pain management necessary to get me comfortable.

What could be improved

I was admitted onto MAU where I was left in pain for hours and given paracetamol which had no effect at all. I asked the nurse for something different to releive the pain and was told that I had to wait. At this point my pain was unbearable so I buzzed for help. The nurse made me feel that I was a nuisance and should not be bothering her. My family came to visit and saw the pain I was in and my wife who is a charge nurse at a different hospital complained to the nurse. The nurse was rude to my wife so my wife asked for her name so she could complain and the nurse refused to give her name and would only say her first name. Later a doctor came arounf and I had to beg to be moved to a different ward as I had no confidence of being provided with the right level of care necessary. I was transfered to ward 5 where the nurse staff were much better but I had no sleep for 5 days and the food was appalling so ate very little.

I later had a visit from the sister and the ward manager who said it would be investigated but I think the nurse in question would probably rule the roost and I hav no confidence she will be dealt with. I would never choose to go to this hospital again and feel sorry for anyone who finds themselves in this nurse's care

Anything else?

This experience left my wife ashamed of her profession after being in the service for 20 years. logo


Response from The Princess Royal Hospital 9 years ago
The Princess Royal Hospital
Submitted on 27/11/2011 at 09:58
Published on on 28/11/2011 at 04:00

Thank you for your comments about the care you received in the MAU at the Princess Royal Hospital.

We aim to provide the highest standard of care for all of our patients. Please accept our sincere apologies that you did not find this to be the case, and that your experience did not match the standards we expect for our patients.

You have said that you have raised this with the ward manager and sister so that your concerns can be investigated and action taken, but that you are not sure that the issues you have raised about an individual nurse will be addressed.

Unfortunately the NHS Choices website does not share your contact information with the Trust. We would like to ensure that the issues you have raised are looking into in more detail and followed up with the departments concerned. We would therefore encourage you to call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01952 282888 or visit their office near the Main Hospital Entrance. They aim to: provide advice and support to patients, their families and carers; listen to your concerns, suggestions or queries; and, help sort out problems quickly on your behalf. If you wish to make a formal complaint then the PALS service will be able to provide you with more information about how to do this. You can also find out more on the Trust website at

Thanks again for taking the time and trouble to provide feedback about your care, and please do contact us so that we can look into this further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k