This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Good EAU experience, not pleased with..."

About: Russells Hall Hospital

What I liked

The night staff in EAU are great, and hand over was good also to daytime staff, made you feel more comfortable staff kept making sure i was ok and were pro active about my care etc. First time i was in A&E staff were effective and only had to wait 35 mins, probably as i was so ill but it was good as was in so much pain, however when i was back the night after discharge had to wait nearly 2 hours in worsening pain.

What could be improved

Food wasnt too great, there seems to be a break down between staff from A&E and EAU and from EAU to a ward, also my parents came to visit me individually, and on 4 seperate occasions, they paid upto £5.40 for parking, to get to the barriers to find they were already up. I had to go back in through A&E as i was discharged too early. A&E cubicle was dirty and so was my trolley i was on.

Anything else?

Got transferred to A1 after almost 24 hours in EAU, only for my care plan to changed significantly from what the specalist had advised. Also the ward was moving place so it was hectic and hard to relax, this was clean though logo


Response from Russells Hall Hospital 9 years ago
Russells Hall Hospital
Submitted on 27/10/2011 at 19:16
Published on on 28/10/2011 at 04:01

Thank you for posting your feedback. We are pleased our EAU staff made you feel comfortable and were proactive about your care during your recent visit to our hospital. We will ensure your comments are relayed to the staff in the emergency assessment unit.

We would like to apologise for the time you had to wait for pain relief while you were in A&E. Timeliness of pain medication is of the upmost importance and we will ensure the A&E matron is made aware of your comments.

We are sorry if you felt the food was disappointing. We take the nutrition of our patients very seriously and we are committed to providing a healthy menu for both patients and visitors. However we continually strive to improve the service and we are running some projects with patients, carers and staff called Patient Panels on 3rd November to share experiences of inpatient mealtimes. If you would like to be part of the Patient Panel, please contact Mandy Green on (01384) 244 404. We would welcome your input.

Like most other hospitals in the region, we do charge patients and visitors for parking. The pay machines at Russells Hall Hospital were faulty at the time of your visits and the barriers in the patient and visitor car parks were lifted to prevent excessive cueing for the convenience of our patients and visitors. However, car park users would still be expected to pay for parking in these circumstances.

It is not unusual for a care plan to change once a patient reaches the short stay medical ward (A1) where more thorough assessment by specialists takes place. The change in plan would always be in the patient’s best interest to enhance a speedy recovery.

A1 did indeed move locations earlier this month as part of a hospital-wide rearrangement of wards, and we must admit it was a little hectic at times for staff, patients and visitors. We did our best to keep patients informed of the move and we appreciated everyone’s co-operation and patience.

We do aim to offer our patients the highest standards of care and we would like to apologise if we fell short of these standards on this occasion.

You have raised a number of other concerns and if you would like to discuss them in more detail, please contact our patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 073 0510.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k