This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Great ward, terrible EAU experience"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

What I liked

The ward I stopped on was excellent and staff were friendly, polite and helpful.

The ward was exceptionally clean.

The urology doctor who dealt with me was also very helpful and friendly and took time to explain my condition to me.

What could be improved

After being referred to EAU from my doctors with severe kidney pain and being 19 weeks pregnant ,following having my intial observations taken i was left in a busy waiting room in a chair from 8.30am to 13.30pm awaiting results.

At 12.30pm I had to ask someone for pain relief. By 13.30 the pain in my back had become so bad i was lying on the floor crying and just being ignored by the nurses. My husband asked for help, the nurse went away for 10 minutes approx and returned and told us we would have to stop where we were as there were no beds. I was in agony on the floor in a full waiting room, i wasnt even offered a pillow or further pain relief, just left to it. I felt humiliated crying infront of the whole waiting room and guilty as the lady sitting next to me was losing her husband and didnt think he would make it through the afternoon. All i could hear were people at the nurses station laughing, they were obviously very busy that day but it didnt look that way to a patient.

After my husband searched the EAU for a more discreet location for me to sit whilst we waited he found a bed. The nurse were very rude as if we were inconvieniencing her and made me feel as though i couldnt approach her. Eventually a senior member of staff saw me on the floor and told someone to find me a bed. I was given a bed and after 20 minutes was seen by another doctor and then my care improved significantly.

Anything else?

I am a student nurse and was pretty horrified by the service we recieived and thinking back, the impression given of russells hall hosipital of anyone seeing me in such a state will probably now be a very negative impression also.

I am having my baby at Russells hall and have always receieved exceptional service from the maternity department with helpful and caring staff.

I informed pals 2 weeks ago of my experience and still havent recieved any feedback. logo


Response from Russells Hall Hospital 9 years ago
Russells Hall Hospital
Submitted on 25/10/2011 at 14:16
Published on on 26/10/2011 at 04:00

Thank you for posting your feedback. We are pleased by your positive comments about our ward staff and urology doctor for their polite and friendly care. We will be very happy to pass your feedback onto them.

We are very sorry you do not feel you had the same level of care from our colleagues in the Emergency Assessment Unit and for the amount of time you had to wait to receive test results.

We understand that our EAU lead nurse has already contacted you personally to discuss your concerns in detail and that she has apologised for what appears to be a lack of care and attention. As you have acknowledged, the EAU is an extremely busy area of the hospital and our staff strive to see patients as efficiently and quickly as possible. We would like to say how sorry we are this did not happen during your visit to Russells Hall Hospital and for any distress you were caused.

We do aim to offer our patients the highest standards of care and we are sorry if we have fallen short of those standards on this occasion. We welcome all feedback and comments are acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient care and experience. Your concerns will be discussed at the next unit management meeting so that staff in EAU can learn valuable lessons from your experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k