This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?


About: University Hospital Of North Durham

What I liked

Out of hours Dr was 100% efficient. Was left in wrong dept at A/E by paramedic and the out of hours Dr intervened

What could be improved

Ward was filthy , (acute medicine) nurses treatment of an elderly lady who was incontinent was appalling , they complained in everyones hearing that she had been incontinent , including in her hearing. It had happened because she had a fit and was unwell and confused.

I was supposed to have hourly obs , that did not happen at all.

The ward smelt

Anything else?

Totally shocked at the lack of care and ignorance about a person's dignity logo


Response from University Hospital Of North Durham 9 years ago
University Hospital Of North Durham
Submitted on 01/11/2011 at 13:25
Published on on 02/11/2011 at 04:00

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to the University Hospital of North Durham.

I am pleased that you were happy with the Out of Hours doctor, but am dissapointed to hear that you were unhappy with other asepcts of your experience on this occasion.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you. If you feel this would be useful please contact the Trust’s Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is

Alternatively, you can write to us at the following address: -

Patient Experience Team

Darlington Memorial Hospital

Hollyhurst Road


County Durham


If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website.

The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients.

Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices.

Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k