This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"disappointing and unacceptable"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

What I liked

some of the nurses were very helpful and caring

What could be improved

an awful lot really, I'm not sure where to start. When i was admitted the second time I was disgusted at the fact a male nurse decided to drag his dirty wet bike that had been left outside all day through the ward, staff were constantly coming through with dirty bin bags and leaving the door open when having a cigarette. I was scheduled to have a ct scan on the monday after been in on the friday before, I was left waiting for an hour and a half before anyone even bothered to tell me it had been cancelled! then taken into a room with three doctors (that I couldn't understand)apart from having an endoscopy done i was then told to go home and wait for an app through my doctors surgery- it never came in three whole weeks as well as constant reminders to the reception. I made sure the nurses knew I had ptsd before attending this app, they left me in a room for three hours on my own, seperated from my mum who didnt have a clue where I was!they tried the canular in my arm four different times before telling me i might just have to go home,then got taken in straight after, by this point i was obviously agitated and attacked the nurse whilst sedated and the procedure could not be done, a barium meal app was given between 18th aug and 8sept i had to wait until the 19th which then colided with other apps I had at another hospital. I was given clexane injections then left with nothing then put on them again etc. I could go on about many other things but I would be here all day. my own surgery referring me to Wythenshawe hospital was the best thing that happened,they are very efficient and I actually have an answer for what I have after all this time.

Anything else?

I went in myself months ago with my dad to hand in a complaint letter,the lady who dealt with it was very nice and helpful but it seems that nothing changed it just went from bad to worse I am just glad the tests I needed doing there are finished with and happy to say my last appointment is at a different hospital. I am just disappointed to have to say this as other family members who have been to stepping hill years before never had a problem with anything but now it is awful logo


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital 9 years ago
Stepping Hill Hospital
Submitted on 10/11/2011 at 11:55
Published on on 11/11/2011 at 04:00

Thank you for sharing feedback of your recent experience with us. I am concerned to learn of the events as you have described them and I am keen to look into this matter further. However, before I am able to do so I will need some personal information so that I can locate you on our Hospital Patient Administration System and commence investigation. If this is something you would like to pursue, please contact a member of the Patient and Customer Services team directly on 0161 419 5678.

Many thanks for your feedback, we look forward to discussing with you further very soon.

Emma Harney,

Case Officer,

Patient & Customer Services.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k