This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Frustrated and let down by the NHS - Guidelines..."

About: The Princess Royal Hospital (Telford)

What I liked

I got an appointment to see my GP immediately and he confirmed I had non melanoma skin cancer and would need to be referred to the local hospitals dertmatology department.

They tried to make an appointment there and then but couldn't so sent me a letter with my choose and book details on within a few days

What could be improved

Getting an appoinment at my chosen hospitals within the set government guideline (18 weeks from referal)

The choose and book system states that this is an urgent referal but not one that falls within the 2 week guideline - despite this I cannot get an appointment at any chosen hospital within the next 6 months

I would have presumed that an appointment could be made even if it is far into the future at least then you would have a choice to either wait or travel miles to another hospital outside the region

Anything else?

I attempted to make an appointment on the choose and book system but there were none available within Shropshire.

I rang directly to book one and it was noted that I wished an appointment within Shropshire due to multiple visits being necessary

I was then blocked from looking at other options on the system

The choose and book system states that I would be contacted before 27th July 2011 by PRH with an appointment at my chosen hospital

I then received a letter from PRH stating that there are no appoinments available in the foreseeable future

I returned to my GP who stated that it was now out of their hands and to deal with the hospital direct.

I rang the complaints manager covering PRH and RSH and explained the situation which she said she would look into and call me back

I was contacted within a few hours by the PALs office PRH who informed me that there is no appointments available at either hospital this year due to only two dermatologists being available and one of those is on long term sick leave.

I then again contacted the complaints manager to express my frustration at still not being able to be given a date when I can be seen.

Government guidelines seem to be propoganda and not fact and official figures are not worth the paper they are written on - or are they just cutting down on services and trying to save money regardless of the health implications logo


Response from The Princess Royal Hospital 9 years ago
The Princess Royal Hospital
Submitted on 27/11/2011 at 10:30
Published on on 28/11/2011 at 04:00

Thank you for your comments about the problems you have experienced with booking an appointment at the Princess Royal Hospital.

We aim to provide the highest standard of care for all of our patients. Please accept our since apologies that we have clearly not met your or our standards on this occasion.

We note that you have contacted the Trust complaints department about this. Unfortunately your contact details are not shared with the Trust by the NHS Choices, so we are not able to contact you direct in response to your comment on this website. If this matter has not yet been resolved then please contact the complaints department at the Trust immediately.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k