This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"very poor - the Alexandra Hospital let..."

About: Alexandra Hospital

What I liked

very little, if anything at all.

What could be improved

my father recently had to be admitted to the Alexaandra hospital in Redditch for a serious, albeit routine operation. whilst i am told that the operation was a success, he developed a complication (bleeding) afterwards....i was told this sometimes happens and can be readily sorted. however, this bleeding wasn't spotted in time and when it was inadequate action was taken, meaning my father had to spend a week in the Intensive Care Unit and nearly died. the post operative nursing care was awful. when he was discharged from the ICU and came back to the main ward, again, his nursing care was diabolical. because he was sedated when in the ICU, on his readmission to the main ward he was somewhat muddled and was unable to answer questions, yet i observed several nurses trying to interact with him, asking him important questions about his care, which only caused him more distress because he did not understand what they wanted. the nurses did not take the time to assess him properly. i also observed them putting medication out of his reach - i am sure not deliberately but again, this shows the lack of care on the part of the nursing staff. whilst there was one extremely pleasant member of the nursing staff, the majority of them involved in my fathers care demonstrated a 'couldn't care a less' attitude and were too busy, hassled and stressed. we were also promised that my father would have support from the ICU outreach team when he was readmitted to the main ward, this did not happen. communication with us as a family was very poor and my father was not, in the main, involved in decisions regarding his care. our families overall experience of the Alexandra Hospital has been extremely poor and left us feeling bitter, very angry and resentful. my concerns seem very similar to a comment posted on this site on 12 March 2011, concerning poor post-operative care. is there a more systemic deep seated problem?

Anything else?

my concerns have been passed to the Care Quality Commission. logo


Response from Alexandra Hospital 10 years ago
Alexandra Hospital
Submitted on 10/08/2011 at 12:26
Published on on 11/08/2011 at 04:00

We are really sorry you feel your father was let down. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your individual concerns and would welcome you contacting us so we can do this. You can contact us on 0300 123 1732.

We always strive to improve the care we provide and when issues like this arise we like to deal with them and take appropriate action.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k