"Awful, will not be revisting!"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

What could be improved

After my last vist to Darant Valley Hospital this would not have been the hospital i would have choose to revist again, but when your taken to hosptal by ambulance with stomach pains you have no say in where you go. I arrived and was taken to what is now called A & E we waited 15 mins for a nurse to come and open the door to decide i did not meet the current A&E criteria and was sent to emerency walk in centre. They was lots of people already waiting all though it seemed most of these only had minor injuries. After complianing to the doctor and sister in charge, we was seen and offered a small bed in a side room but could not give me any stornger pain relief as it was only a walk in centre. Was sent for a xray and when i come back was told the bed was no longer available. Being in a lot of pain and unable to sit up with pain i could not stay at this hosital.tired to make a complaint and front desk staff was very unhelpful and when i was doubled over in pain refused to call a doctor and told me to go back to where i had come from. i was taken to another hospital and within 30 minutes of arriving i was taken straight through to majors given painkillers and andother hour later was admitted.

Anything else?

Darant Valley hospital is getting worst. I would now rather travel 25 minutes to go to another hospital rather then revist here.

Story from nhs.uk


Response from Darent Valley Hospital 9 years ago
Darent Valley Hospital
Submitted on 25/07/2011 at 13:27
Published on nhs.uk on 26/07/2011 at 04:00

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to our A&E department and walk in centre. I am very sorry indeed to hear you had such a distressing and worrying time. I will certainly ensure that staff are aware of your feedback.

I note that you have chosen not to provide your name or contact details. I certainly would want to investigate your concerns in more detail, so we can find out what happened and learn lessons for the future. If you would like me to follow this up and investigate, please contact me on jenny.kay@dvh.nhs.uk or 01322 428658.

Jenny Kay, Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /