"doctors could do with learning some..."

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

What I liked

The nurses were very over worked but came across as caring and friendly, wish i could say the same for the doctors.

What could be improved

The day i was taken into hospital i had phoned earlier that day asking if i could come in to see someone as i was in a lot of pain and very concerned, i explained to the lady on reception that i had been told i had suspected swineflu and because of this she said i could not go to the hospital. later i was rushed in with pneumonia. I was later questioned by a doctor asking if i was a drug user and told that i needed a HIV test as i had a very dirty chest infection, not pneumonia and that they needed the bed therefore i would be sent home. I was then told differently by another doctor that i did have pneumonia and was not allowed home. I felt the way some doctors talked to the patients was disgusting and find it shocking that patients can be scared into thinking they could possibly have another health problem, by the way i do not have HIV.

Anything else?

During my 6 day stay at the hospital i was hounded by trainee doctors sometimes 3 times a day. They came in pairs along with a examiner with a clip board and did the same tests on me each time. I wasnt allowed to say what was wrong with me but as i was poorly i didnt argue and just went along with it. When i moved to another ward i thought that was the end of them but noooooo they found me. I was Surprised when the nurses asked me who they were as they were allowed to walk straight in. On a good note the hospital did make me better and in the end i had a very good consultant.

Story from nhs.uk


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital 8 years ago
Stepping Hill Hospital
Submitted on 23/08/2011 at 09:36
Published on nhs.uk on 24/08/2011 at 04:00

Thank you for sharing feedback of your recent experience with us. I am concerned to learn of the events as you have described them and I am keen to look into this matter further. However, before I am able to do so I will need some personal information so that I can locate you on our Hospital Patient Administration System and commence investigation. If this is something you would like to pursue, please contact a member of the Patient and Customer Services team directly on 0161 419 5678.

Many thanks for your feedback, we look forward to discussing with you further very soon.

Stacey Devine

Case Officer

Patient and Customer Services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /