This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"If you want to get the 1950's experience..."

About: Frenchay Hospital

What I liked

Honestly I can't say I liked it at all.

What could be improved

The service at initial appointment really needs to be improved eg detailed questionnaire forms could have been given to me prior to my first appointment and definately at my first appointment instead of my 3rd. Does triaging really have to be done by a hand surgeon? I would have been happier seeing a senior physiotherapist.

There needs to be an improvement in working relations between the staff as the manager appeared to undermine her physiotherapist's authority by countering her advice and insisting of speaking to me personally rather than listening carefully to her physiotherapist - ie the therapist that saw me and talked to me at each appointment.

They need to get familiar with working in a more respectful patient partnership manner. What every other patient is like and splint budget are not relevant responses to a patient's concerns and won't wash with the modern patient!

Anything else?

Why are we stuck with 'missen' hut style buildings in 2011 when Frenchay has a world wide reputation for Neurosurgery and Plastic Surgery? I think poor buildings general attitudes and morale for both patients and staff. No wonder I get the splint budget quoted at me when buildings are so dilapidated! logo


Response from Frenchay Hospital 10 years ago
Frenchay Hospital
Submitted on 11/07/2011 at 20:39
Published on on 12/07/2011 at 04:00

Dear Anonymous thank you taking the time and trouble to comment on the treatment you received whilst visiting the Physiotherapy Unit at Frenchay. I am sorry that you had such an unsatisfactory experience as this is clearly not what we would wish for any of our patients. I regrest I cannot comment on the specifics of your experience, however I have passed your observations on to all the directorates involved in your care so that they can take appropriate action to improve the service for others. The new hospital build at Southmead is designed to provide an alternative the poor accommodation at Frenchay which as you observe is well beyond its sell-buy date and following this the plan is to update facilities at Frenchay. If you would like me to investigate more fully I would be very happy to do so. To enbale me to do this please provide your details to and I will provide a detailed response from the areas of the hospital involved.

Kind regards – Steve Sykes

Advice and Complaints Team Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k