This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Most of my complaints are about NHS..."

About: Barnet Hospital

What I liked

The staff were almost all very bright and cheerful.

The hospital is a bright clean looking building.

What could be improved

The food is almost inedible. The toilets are not cleaned often enough. When my dressing became loose the nurse told me I should be more careful. When as a result of her carelessness the stent came off blood spurted all over me, the bed the curtains and the floor.Most of it was still there when I left. The nurse was irritable because I wanted to change out of my operating gown, though it was covered in blood and was hot and uncomfortable.

I had to wait 6 hours my medication to caome from the pharmacy. My son had to come back at 7-52pm to collect it. When I received it, it had been altered and all I got were the tablets that I had brought in with me. Due to procedure these apparently have to be checked by the pharmacy even though I had been taking them via the drug trolley ever since I came in and I had a more than adequate supply at home.. One of the tablets had been changed, although the doctor told me I needed them. I was given 100 paracetemol when I had said I had 400 at home and certainly did not need any more. It would help if when you answered a question.

your answer was listened to and incorporated in you treatment. At night time the staff appeared to be inadequate. The Buzzers were not answered, there was a delay in getting a bed pan or toilet assistance

Anything else?

A lot of people who come into hospital are too frightened to say anything when they are being treated, because they do not understand what is going on, they do not want to get the nurses who are so kind to them in trouble. The front line staff have to bear the brunt of patients and relatives who are not happy about waiting literally hours for prescription medicine before they can go home. Especially as they often do not understand the why's and wherefore's, they just have to follow procedure. A little common sense over the dispensing of medicines, i.e.

sending the patient home with a prescription they can fill at their local chemist or in the hospital pharmacy. This would save a lot of unecessary frustration for both staff and patients.

The car parks are inadequate and the charging system archaic. How can you know how long you will be before you can get back to your car? logo


Response from Barnet Hospital 10 years ago
Barnet Hospital
Submitted on 11/07/2011 at 12:37
Published on on 12/07/2011 at 04:00

Thank you for your helpful feedback and we would like to apologise that you did not have a good experience whilst you were under our care. We would appreciate it if you could contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on 020 8216 4625 or e-mail in order that we can look into your experience further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k